Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community
The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
Of the smaller urban centers of Ontario, perhaps none is better known or more thriving, considering its size, than the beautiful and progressive village of Georgetown. There is probably not another village in Canada possessing so many manufacturing concerns as does Georgetown. Indeed, the number and quality of our industries would be the boast of towns four times the size of this, if they possessed them. We may, therefore, be excused if we point to the manufactories of the village and surrounding vicinity with pride and satisfaction. Indeed it is the wonder of our neighbours how this municipality secured so many industries. We shall not attempt here to answer that question fully, other than by pointing out that Georgetown has been specially fortunate in possessing public-spirited citizens who have worked together to the upbuilding of the community, instead of jealously opposing progressive movements if they did not mean personal emolument. The factor of location has been an important item also in contributing to our growth. Georgetown is admirably situated as a distribution point, being in the center of a vast productive area with consuming and distributing points all around. Georgetown might be called the hub from whence radiates the spokes – spokes touching all parts of the Province and connecting up with all Provinces of the Dominion. Georgetown is situated in the County of Halton, 29 miles from Toronto, 31 miles from Hamilton, 22 miles from Guelph, and 50 miles from Barrie. It will be seen, therefore, how its location makes it a convenient shipping point for its numerous manufactured products. The Credit Valley has a Dominion-wide fame as a rich and productive part of the Province of Ontario. Georgetown is really in the Credit Valley, though it is a rather small branch of the Credit River that passes through the village. The river is large enough, however, to form a picturesque little lake as it perambulates through the municipality. Just on the outskirts of the village, however, the Credit River passes over more rugged and uneven ground, and a fall is obtained which has been harnessed to drive the factories and mills which man has built, chief of which is the Barber Paper Mills, one of our largest manufacturing institutions. If we proceed a little further up the river we shall find two other busy factories in the pretty village of Glen Williams – which in a sense may be said to form a part of Georgetown since Georgetown Herald Page 1 file:///C|/…s/Ron%20Raffan/My%20Documents%20%20on%20C%20Backup/EsquesingHistoricalSocietyWebSite/NewFeatureFiles/gh19131.htm[11/06/09 9:26:14 PM] it is only one and one-half miles distant. Then if we proceed a mile or so west, we come to two more busy industries- the Fleming and Logan Stone Quarries, where the famous Credit Valley sandstone is obtained. A few miles northward we find the Terra Cotta and Halton brick companies plants, making millions of pressed bricks yearly. Let us enumerate here the names of the splendid industries in and close to Georgetown: The Barber Paper Mills. The Barber Coated Paper Mills. The Georgetown Coated Paper Mills. The H. T. Arnold Glove Factory. The Georgetown Foundry Co. Creelman Bros’, Knitting Machinery Harley-Kay Knitting Machine factory. C. B. Dayfoot & Co., Shoe factory. J. B. Mackenzies Planing Mill. Glen Woollen Mills. Jos. Beaumont’s Woollen and Glove Mill. Fleming Quarries. Logan Quarries. Terra Cotta Brick Co. Halton Brick Co. Speight’s Machine Shop. The enumeration of these 16 live manufacturing concerns comprises a list of which, as was said above, we may well be pardonably proud and modestly boast. Although so many industries, giving employment to hundreds of mechanics and operators are already in our midst, yet there is room for others, and the village is prepared to deal generously with manufacturers desiring to locate here.
A TOWN OF HOMES
Georgetown is particularly attractive as a place of residence. It is most picturesquely situated on the rising ground of both sides of the stream that flows like a ribbon through the village. Splendid views are obtained from many streets- views commanding a large area of the village. The number of handsome residences is very noteworthy, and new homes are being continually added. Yet there is room for hundreds of other homes- sites that are attractive and reasonable in cost. There are many reasons why those who are looking for a home might turn their attention to Georgetown. One of the first questions asked might be as to its beauty and physical attractiveness. This has been partially answered, but it might be added that the summer verdure, the balmy air, the high and rolling situation, make of this an exceedingly attractive place to live. A question usually asked is, How are the educational opportunities in the village? The answer can be given with confidence that nowhere is the educational equipment better than here. We have a large, well organized and efficiently manned High School, reflecting credit upon the village and upon its Board of Education. The Public School, which has just been enlarged, now provides ample accommodation, and is also a first-class institution in every particular. Persons looking for a place of residence where their children may receive both a good public and High School Education, cannot do better than come to Georgetown. In regard to churches, the village has denominations to suit almost every sect or creed. A good public library affords a varied supply of reading matter to suit every taste. Georgetown is in such close proximity to Toronto as to afford quick and frequent communication. A distance of only 29 miles, it is possible to visit the city to attend concerts, lectures, theatres, etc., at a small cost. And speaking of transportation, it is encouraging to note that our present one company method of transportation will soon be supplemented by the opening of the Toronto Suburban Electric Railway from the Queen City through to Guelph. While we are very well served by the numerous daily trains of the Grand Trunk Railway, in its main line to Guelph and Western Ontario, and its Hamilton to Allandale line, both passing through the village, the advent of the electric railroad will provide a more frequent means of transportation, and also a probably less expensive means.
THE EARLY DAYS
It is less than a hundred years since the first white settler to these parts aroused the curiosity of the younger members of the Indian tribes who roamed the forests and pitched their villages in the district about Georgetown. This vicinity must have been a popular stamping ground for the Red Man, in the early days, for relics of his life here are from time to time unearthed by the farmer’s plow and the gardener’s spade. Those were the good old days for our Red Brothers. But time passes, and the White race has dispossessed the Red of deep forests, and converted them into smiling fields and populous towns. The following facts, relative to the early history of Georgetown, are taken from the atlas published in 1877 by Messrs. Walker & Miles, of Toronto. The late Mr. Kennedy and his family were the earliest settlers in the place; having come here in 1820. In 1837 there were only three families in the settlement, viz: Marquis Goodenow, Sylvester Garrison, and George Kennedy. In that year the Barber Brothers settled in the place and started their woollen mills. The settlement at that time was generally known as “Hungry Hollow,” but shortly afterwards was christened Georgetown, after its founder, Mr. George Kennedy. The first store opened in the place was opened by Mr. John Sumpten, who started in business in 1840. . . . . In 1840 the Wesleyan Methodists opened a church, which endured till 1876, when it was replaced by one costing $5,000. In 1845 the Congregationalists built a church, the first minister being Rev. Mr. King. The next church was the Methodist Episcopal, then came the Church of England. The village grew rapidly during the building of the Grand Trunk Railway, in the early sixties, and in 1864, on December 13th, a by-law of the County Council granted incorporation to the village, and since that time it has been under the village form of government, not yet having attained a sufficient population to put it into the town class. Mr. James Young was the first Reeve of the Village. He held the position for one year and was succeeded by Mr. Francis Barclay, who held the office for the year 1866. Mr. John R. Barber followed and sat in the Reeve’s chair continuously until the close of 1876. Efforts were begun in 1877 to effect the establishment of a High School in the village, and these efforts were crowned with success. The Baptist Church was established here in 1869. The beautiful church with the lofty spire which stands to this day was erected through the munificence of Messrs. J. S. Bessey, R. F. Bessey, George Dayfoot, J. B. Dayfoot, and L. W. Goodenow. At that time the Baptist congregation was only 14. St. George’s Church (Anglican) had in 1877 a large frame church with a rectory adjoining. The Methodist Church of Canada, at the same time of publication of the Atlas had just completed the erection of a handsome brick church at a cost of $4,000. The Atlas says, “The Town Hall is a rather shabby- looking frame building situated on Guelph street, with a lock up in the lower story, used principally for lodging tramps.” In December, 1875, an agency of the Bank of Hamilton was opened in the village, being the first bank in the County. Mr. Colquhoun, local manager. Mr M. J. Bird built the first skating rink in 1876. The atlas above referred to has this interesting bit of information: “The hop industry in the vicinity of Georgetown is assuming large proportions, and the soil has proved very favorable to their growth. About 200 acres of hops were cultivated last year and the general average is from 600 to 800 pounds to the acre.” The names of the 23 growers are given, having a combined acreage of 184. The Atlas goes on, “The strawberry business bids fair to be a leading industry of this section. Already there are about 30 acres under crop. The average yield is about 2,500 quarts to the acre.” The names of the five large growers are then given.
By the assessment role of 1912, Georgetown has a population of 1885. The total assessment of the village is $629.000. The tax rate has fluctuated between 20 and 25 mills for a good many years, but this year it has risen to 30 mills owing to the building of several bridges which had to be restored. The total taxes imposed for 1913 amount to $17,852.00. The debenture debt of the village is $52.687 exclusive of local improvement debt, which is $15.295. In 1891 the village installed a splendid waterworks system, costing $40,000. Additions made since then have cost $3,000. The water is obtained from Silver Creek Springs, 3 miles west of the town, and for domestic purposes is pure and wholesome. The water is brought to the village by gravity from a 400,000 gallon reservoir. For fire purposes the pressure is from 70 to 90 lbs. to the square inch. There are 35 hydrants in use, 1500 feet of hose, two hose reels, hook and ladder truck with a 60 foot extension ladder, and 25 gallon chemical fire extinguisher. There are two fire stations, one at the town hall and one near the G.T.R. station. The volunteer fire brigade of 35 men is an excellent one, men giving loyal, prompt and effective service when danger threatens. In the village there are approximately about six miles of cement sidewalk, which has cost about $18,000. Here the total cost is charged up against the properties benefited, and paid for on the yearly instalment plan, extending over the debenture period. Electric power and light is procured from the Hydro-Electric system, and quite a few of the industries have introduced the power, while nearly everyone uses the light. Formerly the village was lighted by current procured from the plant of H. P. Lawson, of Glen Williams, Mr. Lawson having, being bought out by the town in order to secure the Hydro power. Georgetown is well served in the matter of stores and places of business. Practically every business in the village is represented by a “write-up” in the following pages, hence it is not necessary to refer to them further here. As regards hotels, Georgetown has three, two of them on Main Street and one at the G.T.R. station. These are well-managed hostelries, where the public are well served. The Board of Trade of Georgetown, is young as to years, having been organized two years ago; but it is a real live organization, which has the interests of the town at heart, and is actively seeking to advance those interests and to left its existence.
REEVES SINCE INCORPORATION
1865-James Young. 1866-Francis Barclay. 1867-76-John R. Barber. 1877-8-D. McKenzie. 1879-81-Wm. McLeod. 1882-John R. Barber. 1883-8-Wm. McLeod. 1889-Wm. Freeman. 1890-1-G.H. Kennedy. 1892-3-D. McKenzie. 1894-6-Jas. Barber. 1897-8-W.H. Kars. 1899-H.W. Kennedy 1900-F.J.Barber. 1901-2-A.W. Nixon. 1903-4-R.D. Warren. 1905-7-J.A. Willoughby 1908-9-J.G. Harley 1910-E. McCannah. 1911-L. Grant. 1912-13-J.M. Moore. 1913 COUNCIL Reeve-J.M. Moore. L.E. Fleck. Wm. Barber. F.S. Near. H.H. Heartwell.
Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
THE PUBLIC LIBRARY
The citizens of Georgetown are greatly indebted to the members of the Congregational Church for the present home of the Public Library. Time was when Congregationalism flourished in the village, and the splendid stone edifice, now the Library’s home, was erected for public worship. In the course of time the congregation diminished in numbers, and the services were discontinued. The library needed a home, and the remaining members of the Church very generously made a gift of the handsome building to the village. This generous act will long remain a fragrant memory to the people of Georgetown. The Library contains some 3,500 volumes, and is well patronized by the citizens. The members of the Library Board are as follows: H. W. Kennedy, Chairman J. M. Moore. A. G. Green R. D. Coutts J.A. Willoughby C. B. Dayfoot R. D. Warren. Mrs D. Smith is the capable librarian. H. W. Kennedy, Chairman Some 200 new books have recently been added to the shelves. THE METHODIST CHURCH The buildings now known as the Methodist Church was built in 1882 for the Methodist Episcopal congregation of the town. When the Union of the Different branches of Methodism was accomplished, in 1884, the combined congregation took possession of the M.E. Church, it being the best suited to the requirements of the occasion. It stands on ground that was deeded to the church trustees in 1846, and is a commodious building, with a seating capacity of 400. A good pipe organ was installed several years ago. The minister in charge of Rev. S. M. Roadhouse,who came from Grand Valley, and is now in the third year of his pastorate. Mr. Roadhouse is a native of the adjoining county of Peel, but spent his student days in North Dakota. He is now filling his sixth appointment, all but one of which have been Canada. The church is enjoying a normal growth and how had a membership of 250. The Sunday School, of which Mr. F. S. Near is Superintendent, has an average attendance of a hundred, or more. Mr. J. W. Kennedy, a former Superintendent, is Mr. Near’s assistant. Mr. C. A. Coutts is President of the Epworth League. The President of the W.M.S. is Mrs. L. L. Bennett and Mrs. J. W. Kennedy fills a like position in the Ladies’ Aid Society.
KNOX PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
In common with the other church bodies of Georgetown, the history of this congregation dates back for more than half a century. As a matter of fact there were Presbyterian services held here as early as 1840 to 1843. The early records of the church were destroyed in the burning of the Manse in 1878, but it is known that Rev. Rob. Wallace (afterwards Rev. Dr. Wallace, of Toronto), then in his student days, conducted services in the homes of the people during the years mentioned above. It was not, however, till 1860 that the formal organization took place, under Rev. Rob. Burns, who preached here on alternate Sundays, up to 1862, when Rev. Robert Ewing was called as first settled minister. He continued in charge of the congregation for thirteen years. One of the church pillars in those early days was the late Hugh McKay, a man of outstanding character and intellectual ability. A handsome memorial window in the present church building commemorates his zeal and activity in connection with matters pertaining to congregational welfare. He is one of the first Elders, the other members of session at the time being Thomas Young and Henry Reid. In 1867 the first church building was erected on the site where the church of to-day stands, and was the first church to be built of brick, in Halton County. It is also worthy of note that envelopes for weekly offerings were used in the new church at the time of its opening, the old method of raising revenue through pew rents having been abandoned. In 1887, under the pastorate of Rev. W. G. Wallace, now pastor of Bloor Street church, Toronto, it became absolutely necessary to have a larger church, and the building that had done service for twenty years was torn down and the handsome stone structure that now adorns this part of the town was erected. Fourteen years later, in 1901, it was destroyed by fire, only the walls being left. Re-building took place at once, the interior of to-day being a duplicate of what was before the fire, including the seating accommodation for 500. The membership is 338. Rev. R. F. Cameron is now in the tenth year of his pastorate. In this time he has endeared himself to his own congregation, and is held in high esteem by townspeople generally. There is a Sunday School of 125, of which Mr. R. D. Coutts, B.A., is Superintendent. The other organizations of the church areYoung People’s Guild, W.F.M. Society and the Mission Band. The Members of Session are: Major grant, R. C. McCullough,, G. Leslie, George Hume, Dr. McAllister, C. J. Russell, Wm. Barber, Alex. Robertson, H. G. Clark and J. D. Godfrey. It is interesting to note that the pulpit bible still in use in the church is the one that was presented to the congregation by the late Dr. Burns in 1860. ST. GEORGE’S ANGLICAN CHURCH The first pastor of St. George’s church was the Rev. Thomas W Marsh, who came to the parish in 1852. The congregation worshipped in those days in a frame church, which stood on a site behind the present structure. Rev. J. A.D. McKenzie followed for three years, then Rev. F. A., O’Meara, of Toronto, Principal of Wycliffe College. In 1870 came Rev. C. C. Johnson, and in 1875 Rev. Arthur Boultbee. In Mr. Boultbee’s time the present fine stone church was built. It will seat 200 comfortably and has a fine large basement and some handsome memorial windows. After several ministerial changes, Rev. T. G. Wallace became rector, in 1900. It was in his time that the beautiful little church of St. Albans at the “Glen,” was built. He was followed by Rev. J. A. R. Macdonald, and Rev. Rob. Atkinson, and in 1909, the present rector, Rev. A. B. Higginson, took charge. In the latter’s time a large two manual pipe organ was installed. This has proven a splendid acquisition to the services. The organizations of the parish are in a flourishing condition. There is a surpliced choir of twenty-two voices, an active Woman’s Auxiliary, a branch of the A.Y.P.A., and a good Sunday School. Some 81 families belong to the church, comprising 295 persons, 110 being communicants.
THE BAPTIST CHURCH
This church occupies a commanding position on Main Street north, its tall spire reaching nearer to the sky than any other object in town. But it was from small beginnings that it had its development. In 1847, when Georgetown was scarcely known, the first Baptist services were held, and in 1849 a congregation was organized, with Rev. John Clark as pastor, his salary being 50 pounds a year. He was a man of power in the pulpit, and of marked administrative ability. The services at this time were monthly and continued so for many years. The first contribution to outside work was made in 1855. It consisted of 1 pound and 5s. and was sent to the Grande Ligne Mission in Quebec. In the years that have followed not less than $7,000 have been contributed to missionary purposes. In 1868 a marked step in advance was taken and the erection of the present church building was decided on. This involved an expenditure of $8,000, but on January 30, 1870, it was dedicated, free of debt, a condition that has been continued to this day. The church has a seating capacity of about 400. The membership is nearly a hundred, and in spite of numerous changes, in the congregation, has not varied much in recent years. The parsonage was built in 1874. Among the well known ministers who have served this church are the following: Revs. A. T. Sowerby, W. E. Norton, O. G. Langford, W. S. McAlpine and H. C. Priest. Mr. G. H. Holmes, who is now taking his last year of his theological course, at McMaster University, is the present pastor, and in the year he has been in charge of the congregation has won for himself a warm place in the hearts of his parishioners. Dr. F. R. Watson is the efficient Superintendent of the Sunday School, and there is an active Young People’s Society.
CHURCH OF THE HOLY CROSS
The Roman Catholic Church stands in a good position on Guelph Street. It is a substantial stone building with beautiful stained windows, and with a seating capacity of about 300. In earlier times the congregation had their place of worship on Main St., but in 1884 the present church was opened and dedicated. Rev. Father Traynor, of Acton, conducts the services in Georgetown on alternate Sundays. He has been in charge of these churches, and the one at Austic for nearly two years, coming to this parish immediately after his ordination. The congregation is comparatively a small one, but the members are faithful in their church attendance, and liberal in their offerings. Last year the interior was painted and re-decorated at a cost of $400. Mr. J. J. Gibbens is Treasurer, with Mr. Thomas W. Treanor, assistant.
TERRA COTTA PRESSED BRICK CO.
The village of Terra Cotta is situated in the County of Halton, about five miles from Georgetown. It is said the village got its name from the terra cotta color of strata of shale some feet beneath the surface, of which shale or terra cotta the buff colored bricks are made. The Terra Cotta pressed Brick Co. was the first company to begin the manufacture here of the now popular and famous terra cotta pressed bricks, in both red and buff colors. The plant was established ten years ago, and has been turning out millions of bricks yearly ever since. The company owns 175 acres of good clay land, and have built up a large and modern plant. The clay or shale is dug from the earth and hauled to the pressing plant in cars operated by hydro power. The clay goes through a crusher, then through screens, then into the press, from whence it emerges moulded into bricks. The bricks are loaded on to a wheelbarrow and conveyed to the burning kilns, where they are stacked up ready for the turning on of the heat. This company operates live kilns, three oblong or Dutch, and two circular or down draft kilns. These kilns have an average capacity of nearly 200,000 bricks. Coal is used for firing, and it takes about a month to fill and burn and cool and empty a kiln. The strata of terra cotta or bun shale is a narrow one, hence the output is by a large percentage of brick. Pressed brick is much prettier for the outsides of buildings, and is consequently in great demand. It is naturally more costly than the sandstone variety. This company employs some 25 men at the plant, under the Superintendence of Mr. A. E. Hastings, and under the management of Mr. D.A. Burns, in the head office, Toronto. Mr. Hastings has been in charge at the plant for five years. He is an experienced brick maker, and the plant does a large business, the bricks being made of the very best quality. The produce of this plant is shipped all over Canada, and is in large demand. The demand keeps the plant running at top-notch speed continually. The company has a power plant on the Credit River nearby, where it generates the power to drive the machinery and the current to illuminate its yards and buildings. Mr. Hastings also illuminates his residence in this way. There appears to be a prosperous future asked of the Terra Cotta Pressed Co., as the demand for their product will no doubt continue indefinitely. THE LOGAN QUARRIES These quarries from which the finest quality of Credit Valley freestone is obtained are situated about three miles from Georgetown, and close to the G.T.R. line that runs north to Allandale. The post office address is Glen Williams. Mr. Hugh Logan, the owner of the quarry, was engaged in farming up to 1899, and in fact is still a tiller of the soil, being the owner of 400 acres of good farm land, but since the year mentioned he has devoted himself largely to the producing of stone, from beneath the soil of one of his own fields, and has now an extensive and profitable business. the ledge of rock from which the freestone is taken lies under about ten to fourteen feet of soil and broken limestone, and is itself about twenty feet in depth. It is next to white marble in the matter of the polish it will take, and the satisfactory way in which it can be saved. It can quarried in any size or length, and is in constant demand for fine buildings. Mr. Logan has supplied the material for the stone work in most of the post office buildings that have been erected in recent years from as far east as Gananoque, to the shores of Lake Huron. The beautiful new station of the C.P.R. at Goderich is built of polished stone from the Logan Quarry. The walls of Sir Henry Pellatt’s palatial home in Toronto, the finest private dwelling in Canada, are built of Logan’s stone. The new Government House now under construction in Toronto is also being built of stone from this famous Quarry. The Eaton Memorial Church, on St.Clair Ave., Toronto, is another beautiful building for which Mr. Logan supplied the stone. He employs from forty to fifty men, and has seven teams of work horses, at the quarry and on the farm. A railway siding is run to within a quarter mile of the quarry. On the farm special attention is given to the breeding of fancy driving horses and Holstein cattle. Mr. Logan is just under 40 years of age, and lives with his family in a beautiful home close to the quarry. He was one of the crack bicycle rider of twenty years ago, and has medals awarded to him for one mile, five mile and ten mile championships.
DR. JOS. McANDREW
The village of Norval, Halton Co., is the birth-place of Dr. McAndrew, who spent his boyhood days there and attended the Public School, and later the Georgetown High School. Having decided to take a medical course, he went on to Toronto University, from which he graduated in 1905. Two years later he began the practice of his profession in Georgetown, and has his office and residence on Main St. South. Dr. McAndrew is Medical Officer of Health for Georgetown, and is the Grand Trunk Railway physician at this point.
W. C. ANTHONY Hardware, Stoves, Tin smithing, Etc
“He who by the plough would thrive Himself must either hold or drive” This old adage might with fitness be applied to the business men of Georgetown as a whole, as giving a reason for the success that they have won. They are “on the job” themselves. Mr. W. C. Anthony is a splendid example of what can be accomplished by steady, earnest effort, in developing a good and growing business. He learned the tinsmithing and plumbing at Brampton, where he put in four and a half years. Then he was in business in Wiarton for four years, and in 1903 came to Georgetown, and laid the foundation for what has become one of the largest establishments of its kind in the county. At that time Mr. Anthony had a partner, the firm being known as Anthony and Howes. Seven years ago Mr. Howes dropped out, and Mr. Anthony has since had full management of all the departments. He carries a large stock of shelf hardware, stoves and tinware; does plumbing, eave troughing, and metallic ceiling work; and installs hot air, hot water of steam heating systems. Last year he carried out the contract for putting in the heating plant in the Public School, and one of the biggest jobs of the kind he has done this year, is that just completed in the Hotel McGibbon. The well-known Pease furnace is sold only by Mr. Anthony, and his customers always get satisfaction from it. Not only does he sell the best of furnaces, but he has expert knowledge of how to get the best results from them, and a careful study of each job is made before it is started, so that the most heat may be obtained from the fuel consumed. For the last several years Mr. Anthony has sold and placed an average of twenty heating systems. He has the special agency for the Happy Thought range. These have been sold for thirty years, and are still as popular as ever; and in spite of strong competition the sales continue increasing. A staff of eight men is regularly kept, and in the fall season this is increased to ten. Two horses and wagons are required for the driving and carting that has to be done. Practically all the tinware sold in this store is made on the premises, and there is a growing demand for it, the quality being superior to the factory made goods. The annual output of stove pipes is 2,500, and forty dozen of pipe elbows are sold to go with them. Two hundred barrels of coal oil are required each year to fill the cans that are brought in. That means not less than 9,000 gallons. Mr. Anthony owns the building in which he carries on his thriving business. The main store is large and always well stocked. At the rear is the workroom and the storeroom. There is a large and a convenient horse stable. In the upper rooms of the block Mr. Anthony and family have a comfortable dwelling.
Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
J.A. WILLOUGHBY – Livery and Real Estate
That Canadians are a versatile race is exemplified in the Young Canadian whose name heads this sketch and whose face beams forth from this page. It is just doubtful if there is within the confines of this corporation a more enterprising and all round useful business man and citizen than the said John A. Willoughby. To enumerate his many activities is no small task. John A. had a beginning, of course. In years it is not so long ago either since he came to this terrestrial sphere, a bouncing babe in Charleston on March 16, 1876. The lad chose as his father, the late John Willoughby, and as brothers several lads who have grown into distinguishing men. To name but one will suffice- W. B. Willoughby, member for Moose Jaw, Sask., and leader of His Majesty’s loyal opposition in the Saskatchewan legislature. After acquiring a public and High School education John went West, where three useful years were spent in Neepawa, Man. But Ontario seemed to him a goodly province, and back he came to Georgetown, and launched out into business, which has grown as the man has grown. He first bought the livery and bus business carried on by H. A. McCallum. This was in the year 1901. It was twelve years since then-twelve years packed full with activities. He is still owner of the livery business, which for these seven years he has housed in a magnificent stone building which he erected at large cost. The building is on Mill Street, just off Main, and is one of the finest stables in Ontario devoted to a livery business. 111 x 80 feet is the size of the building, and of two storeys. These are stalls for thirty horses and store room for carriages galore. The stalls are fitted up with Tisdale iron stable fittings; a litter carrier is in operation, and the result is a perfectly clean and neat stable. Apart from the large stone structure there are numerous sheds for housing vehicles. Two harness rooms keep single and double sets handy and in good order. A commodious office is provided for the stable men. Upstairs is a bedroom for the night man, and upstairs also to be found grain bins and room for lots of feed. A unique thing is a paint room where Mr. Willoughby keeps his vehicle freshly painted at short intervals. Mr. Willoughby does a large livery business with his 21 horses, in addition to operating a bus to and from all passenger trains stopping at Georgetown station. Mr. Willoughby’s success in the livery business led him in 1907 to make a venture in real estate operations. He opened an office in his handsome building, and set himself to study the real estate situation. He began with town property and put through many a deal. From the first this new branch of his business was successful, and year by year has seen an extension, until to-day he does a very large business. To indicate how wide the operations are, it may be mentioned that he has recently issued a handsome catalogue, in which no less than 101 farms are listed, in the counties of Halton, Peel, Wellington. This catalogue is free to all, and a postcard request is all that is necessary to bring one to anyone’s desk. Scores and scores of deals are put through yearly by Mr. Willoughby, and what gives him particular satisfaction in this connection is that his dealings have met with much appreciation from his customers. In these days it counts to win and hold the confidence of the public in real estate transactions, for there are so many crooked characters in the business. Those who know Mr. Willoughby have perfect trust in his honesty and integrity, and his rapidly expanding business is an evidence of his ability and trustworthiness. John A. is an owner of real estate himself, having a fine farm of 155 acres just adjoining the corporation, in which he takes much pleasure. This busy citizen, so full of business of a private character, has yet time for bigger things. He was largely instrumental in promoting the establishment of the Georgetown Coated Paper Mills, in which he holds the position of President and Secretary Treasurer. In 1904 Mr. Willoughby entered the Municipal Council. After a year of experience at the Board, he aspired to the Reeveship, and he got the position, too. For three years he held the chair and served the town with diligence and good judgement. To-day he is a member of the Board of Education and the Public Library Board. In this connection it may be said that before the gift to the Library Board of the Congregational church as a home for the Library, Mr. Willoughby had presented the Board with a site. This site they subsequently sold for $500, and used the money in purchasing equipment for the library. It is this usefully active manner that the life of this interesting citizen runs, and he has scarcely yet reached the prime of life. His usefulness and ability seem to have almost no limit, as evidence of the fact that last year he was employed by the Toronto Suburban Railway Co. to purchase all the right of way for their line through Georgetown to Guelph. Looking to the future one can but express the hope that the years for J.A. Willoughby may be many and be just as chuck full of interest and usefulness and loyalty to his home town of Georgetown as the past decade has been.
R. H. NIXON, Phm.B. – Drugs, Stationery, Wall Paper, Etc
From the village of Ashgrove Mr. R. H. Nixon started out in life. He is a member of the same family as Dr. J. R. Nixon, of whom a portrait and sketch appears in another part of this issue. He attended the Georgetown High School, and was for three years a clerk in a local drug store, and for one year in Toronto, before he took the college course. He graduated from the Ontario College of pharmacy in 1908, was in Acton for one year, then came to Georgetown in 1909, and went into business for himself, having bought out Mr. G. A. Ramsden. He has the largest and best appointed drug store in town, situated close to the Bank of Hamilton and the herald office. Mr Nixon manufactures a number of meritorious preparations for toilet and medicinal use, for which he has a large sale, and carries a full line of Na-Dru-Co. specialties. He has the local agency for Victor Gramophones and records, and for Willard’s Forked Dipped Chocolates, a high class but moderate priced confection. Wall papers from the Colin McArthur factory, Montreal, are regularly carried in stock, and a good selection may be made at any time. School books, stationery, hymn books, Bibles, picture cards, newspapers and magazines, are here in big supply. Also a fine line of fancy toilet goods, kodaks and brownie cameras and films, cigars and smoker’s sundries, can always be obtained at this up-to-date store. A photo of part of its interior is shown in connection with this description.
MERCHANT’S BANK OF CANADA
With headquarters in Montreal, the commercial metropolis of Canada, this well known banking house was established in 1864. The paid up capital is $6,784,000, and the reserve fund is $6,820,000. Since 1905 the assets have doubled, and are now $84,000,000. Sir H. Montague Allan is president, and for more than forty years a member of this pioneer Canadian shipping company has been a member of the bank’s directorate. Mr. E. F. Hebden, Montreal, is the General Manager. The 208 branches cover Canada from coast to coast, 150 being scattered through the cities and towns of the Eastern provinces, and the others west of the lakes. The Georgetown branch was opened in 1905, and now occupies the building pictured on this page. The interior is in taking with the handsome exterior. Mr. F. M. Scarth, now of Windsor, was the first manager. He was succeeded three years ago by G. C. Lawrence, who came from the Inspection staff at that time, but had previously given service in a number of the Ontario branches, and was for some time in the General Manager’s department in Montreal. The staff in the local branch consists of four, in addition to the manager. Everywhere the Merchant’s Bank gives special attention to the farmers accounts, recognizing that the agriculturists are the back bone of the country. Here they also have the town corporation’s account, and a number of the large manufacturers. Mr. Lawrence reports that there is constantly increasing business, both in deposits and discounts.
A. E. MOORE FLORAL CO.
Who does not love flowers? To be engaged in the cultivation of beautiful and sweet-smelling flowers to be scattered broadcast throughout the land for the cheer and delight of countless multitudes-this is a most enviable calling. Messrs. D. McIntyre and S. Kirk, the first a Scotchman the second an Englishman, have joined forces in the operation of the AE, Moore Floral Co., of Georgetown. Their large greenhouses are located on King street, and are at all seasons of the year alive with sweet aromas and delightful blooms. The firm owns nine acres of land, one and a half acres being under glass. Each year they plant about 25,000 asters, 50,000 gladiolas, and sweet peas and peonies in large quantities – this in the out-of-doors. Inside 15,000 carnations, 25,000 chrysanthemums, 6,000 roses, and a lot of sweet peas and other flowers are grown. The firm buy about a carload of European bulbs each year for their own planting. The greenhouses are heated by steam supplied by a boiler of 160 h.p. capacity. The water used is secured from the town system. Seven persons are employed at this busy place. And busy is the right word to use. For instance, last Easter week 150,000 blooms of various kinds were put on the market. A large portion of the output is shipped to Montreal, but Toronto and Hamilton also consume a large supply. This firm had a display of flowers at the recent Horticultural Show in Toronto, and were successful in winning four prizes. The firm do an extensive business in funeral designs. Mr. Kirk is the designer, for the company, and he is an artist in this work. The greater portion of the orders for the funeral designs come from Northern Ontario, with which Georgetown is directly connected by the Hamilton and Northwestern branch to the G.T.R. As the writer sat in the office talking to the heads of the company, a most beautiful picture presented itself to his eyes. long rows of smiling crysanthemums, lilies, carnations, sweet peas, and other flowers could be seen, through the office window, while here and there a man with a trained eye and nimble fingers plucked the best blooms for the orders they were making up. A matter worthy of note in connection with the expansion of the business is that a large refrigerator has been purchased and is being installed for the chilling of flowers before shipment. By this process flowers are kept fresh till delivery, and when unpacked after shipment they open up beautifully in the warmer air into which they are taken. Both members of the firm are trained and experienced florists. Mr. McIntyre was in business in Toronto before coming to Georgetown, And Mr. Kirk had charge of Sir Henry Pellatt’s greenhouse before joining the Moore Floral Co. in May, 1911. The business is one of long standing in Georgetown, and under the present able management is going on to a larger measure of success, for further extensions are planned for the near future, to the already extensive plant.
McBEAN & CO – Dry goods, Boots, Groceries, Etc
As one goes from Main St. from the G.T.R. station, he finds facing him on the corner on Main and Mill Sts., the substantial looking cut stone building, having three stories and basement, in which this well known firm conduct their mercantile business. From the front of the store to the rear, the distance is one hundred and fifteen feet, with a width of thirty feet. The major portion of this big space is filled with staple dry goods, boots and groceries, the office and cash desk being conveniently placed part way back on the north side. Farther on are the dress goods and the ladies’ wear departments, and the millinery show room. The stock throughout is large and well kept, and seven employees are busy attending the needs of customers and the proper care of the goods. At the present time a splendid showing of knitted goods is made and at all times of the year the seasonable lines are found here in attractive assortments. All the different departments of the store are given close personal attention by the management, but the big end of the business is the selling of staple dry goods, dress materials, ready-to-where garments, underwear, corsets, etc. The selection that is offered, the quality given , and the moderate prices at which they are marketed, is a combination that attracts and holds patronage. The Millinery department has been long established, and the reputation that it has won is maintained year after year. The second flat is also filled with goods. Here is found rugs, carpets, men’s clothing, caps, etc., with plenty of room for properly showing them. In the basement the linoleums and oil cloths are kept, in widths of from 1 yard to 4 yards. This room is also used for storing reserved stock. Mr. McBean, the only active partner, has been in Georgetown, and in this business for eighteen years, coming here from Toronto in 1894. In Toronto he was six years a partner with Walker & Co., who are still in business on Spadina Ave. Those who have the privilege of meeting Mr. McBean personally do not need to be told that he is a Scotchman, though he has been away from his birth-place, near Inverness, for three decades. In early life he went to Barbadoes, one of the most important of the British West Indies, though it is only 20 miles by 14 miles in extent. He spent five and a half years in this tropical climate before coming to Canada.
GRAND TRUNK RAILWAY
It is a commonly expressed opinion that where a railway corporation has no competition on inadequate service is the invariable result. To prove the fallacy of such a sweeping assertion one need only go to Georgetown. No less than eighteen passenger trains stop regularly at the handsome stone station, seven west bound from Toronto, and seven in the opposite direction; two South to Hamilton and two north to Allandale and North Bay. It is a transfer point for freight to and from Western Canada for western Ontario points, and many thousand cars of freight pass through the yards each year. Mr. J. T. Cameron is the company’s agent here, a position he has held for three years. He is a young man of obliging manner, and enjoys the confidence of the public who do business with the G.T.R. In the office, freight shed, express room, baggage room, etc., Mr. Cameron has a staff of eight assistants.
GEORGETOWN FOUNDRY COMPANY
This is one of the “baby” industries of the town, but to sum up its history in one word would be to write Progress. In September, 1912, three young men who had acquired a practical knowledge of the moulder’s trade in the city of Guelph, came to Georgetown and formed a partnership under the name that appears over this sketch. Mr. C. Young is President; Mr. E. J. Seifreid, Secretary-Treasurer, and Mr. R. McCuaig, Mechanical Supt. They purchased the ruins of a building that had been a knitting factory, and destroyed by fire several years ago. This they had rebuilt and fitted up as a foundry. The building is 60 x 80 feet, stands on a lot more than an acre in size, and is most conveniently situated with the edge of the Grand Trunk Railway and close to the station. At the time the Business started these three men comprised the full staff, and a half car of pig iron was sufficient for a months castings. Now they have an average of from ten to fifteen employees, and are using about fifty tons of iron a month, five times the quantity they used at first. They do a general casting business, and have the facilities for turning out all kinds of foundry work. Among their products are castings for knitting machines, cash carriers, tailor’s pressing machines, stable fittings, stove parts, etc. During the past summer they started the manufacture of what is known as semi-steel. This is a mixture of grey iron and steel. It is 25 per cent or more cheaper than malleable iron, and has proved to be more satisfactory, in point of strength, in some heavy castings. The Georgetown Foundry is one of the pioneers in the manufacture of semi-steel castings, and they are getting orders for it from far away points. At present their products are mostly shipped to Toronto, Fergus, Milton, etc. Business is very satisfactory with them and constantly increasing. They have recently installed Hydro-Electric power, and also have gasoline engine for emergency use. The practical knowledge of the business possessed by the members of the firm and the vigor and enterprise they are manifesting, are sure to bring them still further success.
BANK OF HAMILTON
This well-known banking institution, founded in 1872, has had a branch in Georgetown for nearly 40 years. In those early days the capital of the bank was $1,000,000 of which $275,000 was paid up. At the present time the capital, paid up, is $3,000,000, the reserve and undivided profits are $3,750,000, and the total assets are over $48,000,000. The record of the bank as shown in its annual statements, has been one of steady, conservative growth and expansion. Sound, legitimate banking, keeping well within its financial resources in the development of business, and keeping the assets in such shape as to be able to meet any financial or commercial contingency that might arise-this has been the definite policy of the directorate. There are now about one hundred and twenty five branches, half of these being in Ontario, and the others scattered throughout the Western Provinces. Collections are effected in all parts of Canada promptly and cheaply. The Georgetown Branch is situated on the east side of Main St. and the illustration that accompanies this sketch shows it to be a neat and substantial building. The interior arrangements are well adapted for the convenient transaction of business. In addition to the manager, a staff of six clerks is maintained. The present manager, Mr. W. N. McKay, has held his position for nearly six years. He has been connected with the Bank of Hamilton for seventeen years, and in this time gained, valuable experience in all departments of banking. A large business is done with the manufacture of the town and vicinity, and special attention is also given to farmers’ accounts. Mr. McKay is president of the Board of Trade. In his younger days he was considerable of a sportsman, and was a well-known baseball player. He still takes a keen interest in the game, in a quieter way, and also takes a good deal of enjoyment out of bowling, being a member of the local Club.
BENNETT HOUSE (Albert Sachs, proprietor)
The Bennett House, Georgetown, has been catering to the needs of the traveling public for half a century. The house was established by Mr. Bennett, who conducted it for years, and was succeeded by Mr. Archie Coffey, a son-in-law. The present proprietor, Mr. Albert Sachs, has been in charge for the past five years, and is keeping a good house. The building, as will be seen from the photograph, is of red brick, two stories. The picture of the rotunda shows a roomy and comfortably furnished and equipped business office, and the house throughout is quite up to the favorable impression created by the office. There are 28 bedrooms, well furnished and comfortable, and lavatories for ladies and gents on the second floor, and for gents on the ground floor. The dining room is large, well lighted, and the cuisine is of exceptionally good character, the table service being prompt and attentive. There are three commodious sample rooms for the use of commercial men, many of whom patronize this house. There is accommodation for thirty-five horses in the stables of this hotel, besides ample shed and yard room. In fact there are two barns, besides a large warehouse now leased to the I. H. Co. In connection to the hotel there is a large bar-room, well patronized. One commendable thing is the brilliance of the lights in the rotunda, where a person may see to read at any point. There are also splendid lights in the halls and parlors. Gasoline lamps are used as auxiliary lights in the dining room. Mr. Sachs is assisted in the operation of the hotel by a son, Mr. A. C. Sachs. Another son is the Auditing Department of the Dominion Express Co., Toronto. Mr. Sachs came here from Berlin, where he had been in the steam heating and plumbing business. By trade he is a plumber and steam fitter, and did the first plumbing in the Parliament Buildings and City hall, Toronto, while working in that city. He was born in Hespeler. Since he left his native town 32 years ago, he has lived in Woodstock, St. Thomas, Kingston, Chicago for two years, as well as other parts of eastern Ontario. He is widely acquainted throughout the province, and he has the pleasure of entertaining many of his acquaintances from time to time here. The rates at the Bennett House are $1.50 per day, and there are few, if any, houses in the Province that give better service for the money
Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
A.J. BLACKBURN – Merchant Tailor
In the heart of the business section of Main St. is the well appointed tailoring establishment of Mr. A. Blackburn. Of English birth, Mr. Blackburn came into Canada in 1882, and started business in Georgetown ten years ago. He caters specially for high-class trade, and carries a large stock of imported woolens–Scotch tweeds, English worsteds, Irish serges, etc. He prides himself on the quality of the linings he puts into the garments he makes, and has established an excellent reputation for quality and style. In addition to the custom tailoring he does, he has a nice trade in men’s raincoats, in which he carries a good stock in Canadian and foreign manufacture. Mr. Blackburn owns a residence in town, but is living at present in Norval, and comes into business each day.
THE MISSES ADAMS – Milliners
This is the first season that these young ladies have been doing business for themselves, but their skill in fashioning beautiful headwear is already well-known to the ladies of Georgetown and vicinity. Even to a mere man a look through their show room is interesting and attractive. Of necessity the stock of hats and trimming material is the very newest. Miss M.J. Adams, the head of the firm, was with Messrs. Adams & Co., in their millinery department for several seasons. She now has her sister associated with her. They are finding business quite up to their expectation, and are prepared to give their customers satisfactory service. Their rooms are over Mr. H.W. Kennedy’s office.
C.B. DAYFOOT & CO. – Shoe Manufacturers
“Solid Clear Through” very fittingly describes the character of the boots and shoes made in Georgetown by C.B. Dayfoot & Co. There is nothing flimsy or ship-shod about the product of this factory, and this is something that the town is proud of–the fine quality of its manufacturers. Seventy years have past in Georgetown’s history since the establishment of boot making by the Dayfoot Brothers-P. W. and J.B. The name of J.B. Dayfoot has been in the firm for thirty years, and the present members of the Co.-C. B. and H.C., brothers, too, have since carried on the business under the name of C.B. Dayfoot Co. The label “Dayfoot” on boot and shoe cartons may be seen in shoe stores in Ontario and all the Western Provinces to the Pacific Coast. Wherever men plow the fields or mine the rocks, or clear the forests, or run the lumber mills, or survey the fields and roads, or do any rough outdoors work, there the Dayfoot high cut boot gives comfort and warmth to busy feet. The principal output of the plant is men’s and boy’s boots and shoes, though a small quantity of ladies’ boots are made. A special line made here is a high cut boot in both standard screw and Goodyear welt, similar to the boot shown in this sketch. These are made of the very best leathers that can be procured. The Goodyear plant used in this factory is the most modern method of making boots with absolutely smooth insoles. They are strong, dry as a chip, flexible and easy on the feet, and they will stand a lot of rough usage. From forty to fifty operators are engaged here, nearly all of whom are skilled artisans. The process of making boots and shoes is a most interesting one, and requires a lot of intricate machinery to carry on successfully in these modern times. The Dayfoot boots and shoes are sold to retailers, and men are on the road visiting the various towns throughout the country. The great province of British Columbia is personally visited by members of the company several times a year. The factory of this company is located on John Street. There are two buildings, three stories each. Hydro Electric power is now used, replacing gasoline, which in its turn replaced steam. The company has recently issued a beautiful little catalogue of their high cut and strong Workingmen’s boots, which makes interesting reading to those who are looking for something satisfactory in footneeds.
GENTLEMEN OF ESQUESING H.T. ARNOLD & SONS – Manufacturers of Gloves and Mitts
Amongst Georgetown’s progressive industries must be mentioned that of H.T. Arnold & Sons. It is not often that a father can keep his sons with him in his business, but here is a father who has four sons associated with him, and all making good. They are William, George M., R.R. and B.G A glove factory is not a common industry in small towns, but this town was fortunate eleven years ago in inducing Mr. Arnold to locate his glove and manufactory here. Located on the corner of Guelph and Water Streets, a three-story brick building, 120 x 40 feet, is the home of this interesting concern. A general line of fine gloves for men and women, and coarse gloves and mitts for working men is the output of this factory. Each grade or line of gloves is the best in its line. The workmanship that goes into these goods is of the most careful character, and nothing but a serviceable article goes out in cartons labeled H.T. Arnold & Sons. Sheepskin, dogskin, pigskin, calfskin, horsehide and buckskin are leathers worked up into the firms product–these leathers being for the most part imported from England and the United States. The finished product is sold to dealers in Ontario, Quebec and Nova Scotia, principally. Six travelers are kept on the road, and the orders are always equal to the output of the plant. A special line of mitts that have caught on with men who have much rough work to do is a wire sewn mitt or glove–wire being used as thread. This is a wonderfully strong glove, and is becoming deservedly popular this year. An auto glove, with the thumb sewn on by wire is another specialty. A very pretty gauntlet is a roper’s buckskin intended for the cowboy’s of the west. In fact every sort of glove and mitt worn for all purposes and every occupation is turned out in this busy factory in 200 varieties made by the over half a hundred persons on the payroll, at the rate of one hundred dozens pairs per day, or the enormous total of 360,000 pairs per year. Many of the mitts made here have knitted cuffs, and the knitting of these cuffs is done on then premises. Next year the firm purposes erecting a tannery, where sheepskins may be tanned for use in the factory. Hydro-electric power is used here as the driving force for the machinery, with an auxiliary gasoline engine, so that there may be no delay in the event of a breakdown in the power line. Year by year the business of the firm has expanded, and their output has increased, the turnover for the last year being ten times as large as it was ten years ago. The head of this firm, Mr. H.T. Arnold, is an experienced glove maker, having had practical experience in England and the United States, in the leading glove centres. He came to Canada forty years ago, and has been making gloves practically ever since. His father before him was a glove maker, and it looks as if his sons after him would be in the same useful and lucrative occupation. We say lucrative advisedly, for besides the large and beautiful home owned by Mr. Arnold, many other properties about town are in his possession. The father and four sons make a strong combination, and are certainly making a great success of their industry, much to the benefit of the community.
C. VAN ALLEN – Merchant Tailor
“Van, the tailor,” is the sign on the front window of his shop room, and this is the name by which he is known to his friends and business associates. When he was a few years younger than he is now, Mr. Van Allen did what nearly all the Georgetown boys of that day did–he played lacrosse. And so well did he play that for some time his services were in keen demand, and in addition to being a star in the local team, he played with the teams of several Ontario towns, and eventually went to the far Pacific shore to exercise his skill in the national game. He eventually got back to Ontario, and to Georgetown, and in 1898 commenced business for himself, and has established such a reputation for style and good workmanship that he is unable at times to handle all the orders that would be entrusted to him. Mr. Van Allen gives special attention to ladies’ tailoring, as well as to the high class trade he has for men’s clothing. He has given some service in the Town Council, but has lately occupied himself entirely in looking after his own business.
C.C. ROE – Division Court Clerk
Having lived all his life in Georgetown, Mr. C.C. Roe is one of the well-known men of the town. His principal business is as representative of a number of firstclass Fire and Life Insurance companies. He is a Notary Public, and six years ago was appointed Clerk of the Division Court. For eighteen years he has been a member of the Public School Board, and has been its Secretary for some time. At the recent organization meeting of the Halton Rural and Urban Trustees Association, Mr. Roe was elected the first President. He has been a member of the 20th Regiment Lorne Rifles for many years, and now holds the rank of Staff Sergeant. He has a long Service Medal, presented to him for twenty years’ continuous service in the militia.
GEORGETOWN COATED PAPER MILLS
The above illustration of the Georgetown Coated Paper Mills shows what a fine home this young industry has–for it is a young establishment in point of time, having come into existence in May, 1910. Though young in years, the industry has behind it the experience of decades and the improved methods which practice and experimentation invariably produce in the process of time. The main building is a big one–265 feet long by 66 feet wide, two stories and basement. A boiler house has an area of 50 x 40 feet, the engine room is 40 x 28 feet. All the buildings are of reinforced concrete, strong and durable as the hills, and practically indestructible. The steam plant which supplies the motive power and the heat has a capacity of 250 horse power. There are some monstrous machines to drive in this big factory, and a lot of steam heat is required to dry the paper after being coated. It is an interesting process, this coating of paper. Paper-making and paper-coating are two distinct operations. In this mill paper is not made; it is only coated. Paper is purchased from the paper mills, and it comes to this mill in huge rolls of various lengths, ready for the machines. Time was when coated paper was unknown, but the exigencies of modern printing have made necessary smooth and hard paper, hence the process of coating. The coating material is procured from England. It is a white clay which is prepared in the form of putty or paste, and can be made any desired color by the addition of coloring substances. This paste or coating is reduced to the desired thinness and put into a trough or holder on the coating machine. The paper is passed over rollers covered with thin coating and then is passed along on carriers down a long room over steam heated pipes and back again, when it is perfectly dry and is wound on to another roll. The operation is repeated to cover the other side of the paper, after which the paper passes through a big machine with a number of smooth rollers, from which it emerges polished and glistening, and is then coated paper ready for cutting into desired lengths. It is coated paper which the reader holds in his hands as he peruses this sketch–paper made in Georgetown. The firm manufactures coated book and coated litho papers, coated card-boards, coated bristol boards, translucent and folding box boards, and blotting paper coated on one side. The machinery used in this mill is of the most modern sort, and the product is one of the best quality. About sixty employees are engaged here, and the output is very large during the year. The product of this mill is disposed of to wholesalers and retailers all over Canada, and is made up into books, catalogues, pamphlets, etc., and gives complete satisfaction to printers, lithographers and readers. The officers of the Co. are: President–Mr. J.A. Willoughby. Vice-Pres. and Manager-Mr. L.E. Fleck. Mr. Willoughby is widely and favorably known in our midst, having been here for many years. Mr. Fleck has been in the town since 1905, having been with the Barber people for several years. He is a man with a wide and varied experience in this paper making business. he has been engaged in mills in Wabash, Ind., Kalamazoo, Mich., And Hamilton, Ohio. His seventeen years’ experience in paper making fit him well for the responsibilities of the post he fills, and this young firm is making good in every sense of the word.
O. McKAY – Groceries, Confectionary, Etc.
Mr Oliver McKay occupies a commodious store on Mill street, close to Main St., where he has conducted business for himself for over eight years. He has always lived in Georgetown and has worked in a grocery store since he left school. He carries an extensive stock of confectionary, fruits, tobaccos and cigars, and, in fact, specializes in these lines. Mr. McKay is something of an archaeologist and has quite a fine collection of coins and postage stamps. He takes great interest in gathering Indian relics, and has several cases filled with arrow heads, spear heads, stone axis, clay and stone pipes, and other tool implements used by the aborigines. He is pleased to have these treasures examined by any who enjoy such a privilege.
MILLER & CO – Tailoring and Men’s Furnishings
Away back in 1880 Mr. W.A. Millar came to Georgetown to enter the establishment of Messrs. McLeod & Co. as cutter, and manager of the tailoring and clothing department. He held this position for a number of years and then entered the partnership of Gibson, Millar & Co., who conducted a business similar to what he is now engaged in. Ten years ago the firm name was changed to Millar & Co. and Mr. Millar became the only active partner. During these later years good progress would be made, and at the time these words are being written Messrs. Millar & Co. are moving into larger premises, two doors north of the old stand on Main St. New and handsome fixtures for the display of the goods carried have been installed, including silent salesmen, a large hat case, and a clothing cabinet. The store will now have one of the handsomest interiors and the largest and most attractive display of men’s furnishings, in town. The tailoring department will continue to have Mr. Millar’s personal direction. He does the cutting, and keeps two first-class coat makers besides the pant and vest makers. The order book shows that a large local patronage is enjoyed by this shop, and that clothing is made to go to nearby towns, and to distant parts of the province, and beyond it. The fact that men were former customers of Millar & Co. are now living in other parts, still send their orders for clothing here, tells the whole story in regard to the kind of satisfaction they have received. In addition to the ordered clothing there is such a demand for, Millar & Co. do a considerable business in ready-to-wear clothing, and have a splendid lot of overcoats, suits, etc., to select from.
DAVID GANT – Barber
In point of age Mr. Gant must be classed with the veterans, being now in his 76th year, though looking twelve or fifteen years younger. For thirty-five years he has been cutting the hair, trimming the whiskers and shaving the faces of Georgetown people, having come here from Toronto, where he had been engaged in the same business, in 1878. For thirty years he has occupied the shop he is now in, a basement at the Hotel McGibbon.
GEORGETOWN HIGH SCHOOL
For architectural beauty and commanding situation, the high school is easily one of the most noticeable buildings in the town. With its park like surroundings, pretty lawns, shrubbery and shade trees, flower beds and trailing vines, and a campus that is more than four acres in extent, it has attractions that few similar institutions of the kind have. The organization of the school dates back to 1885, but at that time the classes were held in part of the Public School building. In January, 1887, the present building erected at a cost of $12,000, was opened. The first principal was Mr. Malcolm Clark, now Professor of Moderns in McMaster University, Toronto. He was succeeded by Mr. R.A. Barron who filled the position for 2 years. Mr. A.H. Gibbard, who is now Librarian of the Public Library at Moose jaw, Sask., proceeded by Mr. R.D. Coutts, B.A., who came here from the Harriston High school in 1897, and has been for sixteen years the efficient and respected head of the school. Owing to certain uncontrollable causes the attendance about this time had dropped to about 65, and the staff of teachers had been reduced to three, but there are now from 110 to 120 pupils and four teachers. The staff at present comprises the following: R.D. Coutts, B.A., Principal and specialist in Classics Miss K.E. Smith, B.A., Science teacher Miss A. Menhennick, B.A., Specialist in Moderns Mr. E.D. Manning, Mathematical teacher. Of the pupils now in attendance, about 60 are from out of town, and of these 35 come in by train daily. The school has a well-equipped science room, with apparatus valued of $620. The Reference and Supplemental reading library has books to the value of $437, and there is a collection of Biological specimen valued at $143. This latter includes an interesting collection of Halton County birds and small animals, about 75 specimens in all, which are specially valuable in the teaching of natural history. The Art students are supplied with models purchased at a cost of $70. The present High School Board is composed of the following gentlemen:-W.A.F. Campbell, Chaiman; F.R. Watson, D.D. S.; J.A. Willoughby; L.L. Bennett, L.D.S.; J.W. Kennedy and Ren. R.F. Cameron.
Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
R.D. COUTTS, B.A.
Mr. R.D. Coutts has been principal of the Georgetown High School and a valued citizen for 16 years. His early life was spent in the County of Kent, the village of Valletta, in that County, being his birth place. His secondary education was obtained in the Chatham Collegiate Institute. Here he won for himself the highest standing in Classics and Moderns, and a gold medal. Entering Toronto University he took the double honor course for the first two years, he graduated with honors in Classics, and the degree of B.A., in 1894. His first teaching experience was in the Public School in Newcastle, Ont., prior to taking his University course. After graduation he was Classical Master in the Harriston High School for two years, and came to Georgetown in 1897 as principal and specialist in Classics. The record of the school during the years that have followed, is referred to in another column. Mr. Coutts has been Superintendent of the Presbyterian Sunday School during most of the time he has resided here, and in this position also his services have been highly appreciated.
This is the second year in the municipal Council for Mr. Wm. Barber, one of our publicspirited citizens. Mr. Barber has been a resident of the town for quite a few years, long enough to acquire considerable property here. He has represented H.T. Arnold & Sons, glove manufacturers on the road for the past ten years. Mr. Barber was born in Caledon, Tp., where he lived till he was eleven years of age. He spent quite a few years in the tanning business, having learned the art in Bellfountain and Hillsburg. Then he switched off onto glove making, and later to selling gloves that the other fellow made. He has made a success of his life, has Mr. Barber, and now has a lovely home on Main and Kennedy streets, and has time and inclination to serve his fellows on the Council Board.
J.W. KENNEDY – Hardware
For twenty-one years, Mr. J.W. Kennedy has been connected with the business life of Georgetown, as a hardware man, and for the last seven of these years he has owned and managed the business himself. He sells and recommends the Kelsey and Sunshine furnaces, and has an increasing demand for them. Those who entrust their furnace work to Mr. Kennedy may depend on having good satisfaction. The same may be said for the work done by his plumbing department, in which there is also a steadily increasing business. He carries a full stock of shelf hardware, stoves, etc., and does electric wiring and tinsmithing. Mr. Kennedy is a Methodist, a member of the I.O.F., and the A.F. & A.M. For ten years he was a member of the Public School Board, and now gives similar service on the High School Board.
GEORGETOWN PLANING MILL – J.B. MacKenzie, Prop.
Although only 37 years of age, J.B. Mackenzie is the owner of two large and prosperously busy planing mills–one in Georgetown, the other in Acton. The story of how J.B. “evoluted” into his present activities is of much interest. He started carpentering and contracting, after a boyhood spent on the farm in Esquesing, where he was born in 1876. His contracting led him to become a dealer in lumber, and the growth of both businesses led him to establish a planing mill in Acton in 1900. In 1909 he acquired the Georgetown planing mill from Mr. H.B. Lawson, who had operated it for twelve years, and has been running both planing mills since. The Georgetown mill is a splendid structure, 60 x 80 feet, three stories, of solid stone-handsome in appearance and durable, and worth a goodly sum as buildings cost to-day. It is situated at the corner of Draper and James Streets. The mill is equipped on the ground floor with a surface planer, ripsaw, foursided sticker, buzz planer, variety saw and re-saw. Upstairs is located the sash and door machinery. The product of this well-equipped mill is planed lumber for the trade and for local sale, all sorts of sash, doors, mouldings, etc., also interior fittings for banks, stores, and offices. The silent salesmen made here are beautiful pieces of furniture, made by trained mechanics. A triple mirror for tailors’ use is also amongst the output of this factory. A large dry kiln, capable of holding twenty thousand feet prepares the lumber for use. The motive power used is steam, the wheelock engine having 50 h.p. capacity and the boiler 80 h.p. capacity A stock of $10,000 worth of lumber is carried in the yards and mill ready for use. Some 80 cars of lumber have been handled this year for local sale. Mr. Mackenzie secures his stock of lumber as far north as New Liskeard, as far east as New Brunswick in Canada, and from across the boundary line in the State of Louisiana. The mill does a large local trade in planing and in sash, doors, etc., and the interior fittings are marketed in all parts of Ontario. In addition to operating the two mills, this energetic young man conducts a contracting business which has grown to large proportions. He takes contracts for buildings of all sizes and sorts, and in this regard finds his planing mills of great convenience and service. This season he has handled perhaps two dozen large contracts, one of these being the addition to the public school. Numerous very fine houses have been erected by him in the past years. Some seventeen men are now employed by him in Georgetown, and during the summer seasons about twenty-five are employed. The turnover in the milling business per year would probably be $27,000, apart from the contracting, and his wage bill would amount to say $5,000 in Georgetown alone. Mr. Mackenzie is fortunate in having as his manager of the mill Mr. Sydney Young, who has been with him since he purchased the business, and had been with his predecessor for ten years, and for twelve years, and for twelve years previously had been connected with a planing mill in Milton. Mr. R.J. Waldie is manager of the contracting department, and has been with Mr. Mackenzie since he began contracting fourteen years ago. A combination such as these three men supply is one of great strength and ability, and the result is a progressive business of great benefit to the whole community.
J.J. GIBBENS – Main Street Bakery
This business was established by Mr. Gibbens in 1908, and he now has a very creditable establishment, with one of the best ovens and the most up-to-date machinery for bread making. In addition to the large local custom he enjoys, Mr. Gibbens ships bread regularly to dealers at a distance, some going seventy miles. The output of his oven is about 10,000 loaves a week. For pastry, buns and cakes he has a larger local demand. The flour used amounts to a little more than a carload per month. At the convention of the national Association of Master Bakers, held in Buffalo, in September, 1913, Mr. Gibbens was awarded first prize in the bread making competition. He has also won two prizes at Canadian Bakers’ conventions, in Toronto. Such a record fully justifies Mr. Gibbens in calling his product “Quality Bread.” He keeps two wagons for delivery through the town and vicinity. R. H. NIXON – Harness Maufacturer Mr. R.H. Nixon, Georgetown’s only harness maker, has his shop in the business section of Main Street. As a young man he worked in his father’s shop in Stewarton, but in 1904 he purchased the shop in which he has since spent his working hours. Here he has the equipment and machinery such as is found only in shops that are controlled by progressive men. This is the day when factory-made harness is more or less popular, but Mr. Nixon handles the home-made kind, for which he has a steady demand. In the repairing department he is always busy, and devotes the same care to this branch of his business as is given to the turning out of new work. He carries a large stock of trunks, valises, horse combs and brushes, whips, rugs, and other stable and buggy supplies. Mr. Nixon is a brother of Dr. Nixon, M.P.P., for Halton. He is a member of the A.O.U.W. and I.O.F.
W.H. FOSTER – Watch Expert and Jeweler
Though he is still quite a young man, Mr. Foster has had years of experience in watch making and the jewelry business. After spending his boyhood days in Brampton, his birthplace, he entered the establishment of Messrs. Gunther & Co., Guelph, for five years, and came from that city to Georgetown in May, 1912, to start in business for himself. He has since occupied Wilson’s old stand on the West side of Main St., and has met with great success. The store fittings are new and handsome, and an extensive stock of watches, jewelry, standard silver and plated ware, is carried. “Quality first” is the store motto, and a guarantee of satisfaction goes with every sale. About January 1, 1914, Mr. Foster will add a fully equipped optical department. To this he will give the same careful, personal attention that he has to the other departments of his business.
JOHN MACDONALD – Coal, Wood Groceries
One of Georgetown’s most respected citizens in John Macdonald, the coal man. Born in the nearby township of Esquesing, he lived there on his father’s farm till he had attained to man’s estate, then followed an older brother to far away Alabama. These two were afterwards joined by another pair of brothers, and the four went into business as coal miners. They drilled till they located a seam that looked good, then went after the coal, and soon had their mine in successful operation The output was called “Macdonald” coal, and though the ownership of the mine has changed twice since the Macdonald Bros. had it, the coal is still marketed under its original name. Mr. John Macdonald was general manager, and had charge of the firm’s retail business at Birmingham. For twelve years he was postmaster at Carbon Hill, Ala. At that day this was a “bad man’s town” and traveling salesmen, who placed a proper value on their lives, were not frequent visitors to it. Mr. Macdonald stayed in the South for seventeen years. Then for the sake of his own health, and to obtain good schooling for his children, he returned to the north of the lakes and started his present business in 1904. He now has one of the best equipped coal sheds west of Toronto with a capacity of twenty-five cars. It is so arranged that a loaded car can be shunted in on rails laid on the roof, then the hopper bottom of the car is opened and the contents are dropped to the shed below, the car being emptied automatically of its fifty tons in fifteen minutes. By a similar process the car is loaded into the wagons for delivery, without shoveling. The wagon is driven under the elevated shed, and the pulling of a lever opens a chute, and the coal passes over a screen into the wagon at the rate of a ton in two minutes. Mr. Macdonald handles only the best quality of Scranton coal, in which he does a large business. As a sideline he carries a stock of groceries in his neatly kept office building.
J.H. LANE – Real Estate
Mr J. H. Lane was one of Esquesing’s successful farmers previous to coming to Georgetown some years ago. He is the owner of the Lane Block on Main St. and since taking up his residence here has been dealing largely in real estate. His long residence in the locality has enabled him to acquire possession of facts concerning property, and his clients reap the benefit. Intending purchasers would do well to see Mr. Lane’s list of farm and village properties. W.H. WILLSON – Undertaker and Embalmer Nearly forty years ago the late J.G. Willson opened the business in Georgetown as an undertaker and furniture dealer, and continued it until his death in 1903. His son W.H. Willson, had assisted him in the work of funeral directing for some time, and at his father’s death assumed full charge of the business. He had previously taken the course at the School of Embalming, and obtained his certificate. He gives careful, personal attention to this department of his business, and enjoys the fullest confidence of the circle of patrons. He carries a good stock of furniture, and does considerable picture framing. Mr. Willson is a native of Georgetown. He is a member of the Masonic Order, the I.O.F., but does not profess to be much of a society man.
THE EXCHANGE HOTEL – Harry Wright, Prop
Under Mr. Wright’s management this is the right house, all right, for the traveler who wants a comfortable stopping place, most conveniently situated to the railway station. Every one of the Grand Trunk’s eighteen daily trains stop within a hundred yards of the front door of the hotel. Mr. Wright came here from Nobleton in June of the present year, succeeding Mr. J.E. Kaiser. He is a comparatively young man, but has been associated with the hotel business for twenty seven years. Mr. Wright’s parents were Somerset people, but were living in Wales at the time he first began to make a noise in the world. Welshman though he is, by the accident of birth, Mr. Wright has had much of the advantage that we Canadians think belongs to us in this respect, for when he was but eight years of age the family came to Ontario County, and settled there, and Harry has hardly been out of the Province since that time. The Exchange hotel has comfortable and well kept bedrooms, a dining room in which only good meals are served, and stabling accommodations in keeping with the other appointments of the house. There is a well stocked bar, and those who are in need of liquid refreshments are served with ales and liquors of all the standard brands. W.J. PATTERSON – Butcher With a shop that is neat and clean in appearance, and properly kept in all particulars, it is only a matter of course that Mr. W.J. Patterson is enjoying both a good town and country patronage. He has been here only two years, but in that time he has found it necessary to increase his store space by fully a third. When he started he had work for but one horse, now he keeps three busy and has had a similar increase in his employees. He has added new and up-to-date fixture to his shop and handles fish, poultry, lard and butter, in addition to a full line of fresh and cured meats. Mr. Patterson is energetic and obliging and merits the success he is achieving.
HARLEY-KAY KNITTING MACHINE CO. LTD
In 1906 this company, then newly organized, purchased the building they now occupy, and which had stood vacant for a dozen years. The roofs and floors were removed, the best equipment that money could buy was installed, and the manufacture of knitting machines and winders was begun. The start was a modest one. There were but three employees, but under the diligent and careful direction of Mr. F.A. Harley, who is still the managing director, steady and satisfactory progress had been made. Last year there was a 68 per cent. increase in the business done, as compared with the year 1911, and eighteen skilled mechanics are now employed. New and expensive machinery has lately been added, and not less than $20,000 has been invested in the mechanical outfit of the factory. Operating power is obtained from the Hydro-Electric service, this having been the first factory in town to use the new power. From the first the Harley-Kay Co. set out to build only first class machines, and to cater to the best class of the manufacturing trade. That they have succeeded in this aim is evident, for they now supply machines to the largest and most discriminating manufacturers in the country, and this in competition with American machines, which are delivered here, duty paid, for less money. One of their machines, designed and perfected for the knitting of heavy wool half hose, is now generally recognized as the most efficient in the market for this class of work. One mill at Renfrew has forty-one of them. They have an extraordinary capacity for work. The largest recorded production in Canada, in this line, was by one of these machines, in Mr. John McMurtry’s mill at Huttonville. Here one operator actually knit twelve dozen pairs of wool socks in one ten hour day. The winders are built in sizes of from 12 to 40 spindles each and the Harley-Kay Winders now in use in Canadian mills represent a total of over 1100 spindles. In addition to the machines for hosiery, they manufacture Auto Ribbers and Sleeves, for underwear, sweaters, etc.; a special machine for knitting silk scarfs, other special machines for knitting cuffs and linings for mitts, and various knitted novelties. The products of this factory are in use from Nova Scotia to the Pacific coast, and they are frequently sent into the United States. Mr. Harley is still a young man, on the sunny side of forty. He is himself a practical machinist, and has had experience and training in both Canadian and American factories. His personal energy and capacity for hard work are reflected in every department of the establishment that is now under his direction.
ANDREW VANCE – Livery
Mr. Vance was brought up with horses and has worked with them all his life, but has been but a comparatively short time in Georgetown. A year and a half ago he leased the stables connected with the Bennett House, and has since given good attention to the horses that come under his care, in connection with the hotel’s business. He also keeps five horses of his own for livery purposes and is progressing along sensible lines. He has good buggies and a fine surrey, and is ready to supply an outfit at any time of day or night.
DR. A. McALLISTER
As is the case with so many of Canada’s professional men, Dr. McAllister was born and spent his boyhood days on a farm. His early home was near Hensall, country of Huron. He attended the High School at Clinton, then spent six years as a teacher, before starting his University course. In 1910 he graduated from Toronto University, with the degree of M.B. The next year was spent in postgraduate work in the Ottawa Protestant Hospital, where he was resident House Surgeon. He came to Georgetown in September, 1911, in succession to Dr. A.S. Elliott, and enjoys a large practice. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church, where he exercises the office of Elder, and is also on the Board of Management. A portrait of Dr. McAllister appears on this page.
A.B. WILLSON – Jeweler
Mr. A.B. Willson is another of the Georgetown business men who is native born. He spent his apprenticeship with a local watch maker, then went to Toronto and Chicago, and was for several years in Iowa. Twenty-five years ago he returned to his native town, and went into business for himself. He now occupies the store next to the Hotel McGibbon, on Main St., where he carries a large stock of sterling silver and plated ware, watches of all kinds, clocks, from those that can be carried in the pocket to the “grand-father” size, cut glass, ebony and celluloid goods, etc., Mr. Willson has a stock of loose and set diamonds and pearls that would do credit to a much larger establishment. Ten years ago he took a course in optics, and now carries a big assortment of lenses and frames, which he scientifically fits, for those needing them. He has the local agency for the Waterman Fountain Pens, for which he has good sale. The repairing department is quite a feature of Mr. Willson’s business and his long experience and success in this, warrants the confidence that is reposed in him by his patrons
Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
L. KENNEDY – Baker and Grocer
The “City Bakery,” on the corner of Guelph and Mill Sts., is the spot where Mr. L. Kennedy turns out the staff of life, in large quantities. He does a big business in bread, cakes, and pastry, supplying many customers in town and in the nearby villages. He keeps two bakers always busy, and has to have an extra driver to help with the delivery. Mr. Kennedy has been twenty-three years in Georgetown as baker and grocer. He carries a full line of groceries and confectionery in stock. He has been for three years a Public School trustee, and is a member of the Board of Managers of the Presbyterian church. An engraving of Mr. Kennedy’s residence is shown in this paper.
W.L. HAMILTON – Confectionery, Ice Cream, Etc.
Who is there that does not confess to the possession of a “sweet tooth”? And if such there be, a visit to W.L. Hamilton’s well-kept store, where the large stock of candy is so attractively displayed, would surely create a desire to sample it. It is four years since the proprietor came here, from Mount Forest, and each year has had a fine increase in his sales. In the summer season of this year he sold 1672 gallons of ice cream, of which all but 200 gallons was made on the premises. He has a well appointed soda fountain, and in the cold months serves hot drinks to his patrons. Mr. Hamilton’s business has grown to such proportions that he must get into larger premises and he will be across the street from his old stand in time for this year’s Christmas trade.
DR. A.W. NIXON
The representative of Halton in the Provincial Legislature is too well known to require an introduction to the regular readers of the Herald. But to the other thousands who will peruse this special edition a brief sketch will be of interest. Dr. Nixon’s birthplace was Stewartown, near Georgetown. After taking the public school course he attended the High School at Brampton, then taught school for five years prior to entering Trinity University. In 1891 he graduated with the degree of M.D., and has since practiced with success in Georgetown. He was Reeve of the town in 1901-2, and in the latter years was the candidate of the Conservative party in the Provincial election. In this first contest he was defeated, but in the election of 1905 he was the winner, and in the two general elections that have since been held, he again headed the poll. Dr. Nixon’s office and surgery are on Mill Street, just around the corner from Main Street.
DR. J.R. NIXON
Having chosen Ashgrove, Halton Co., for his birth-place, it followed as a matter of course that R.J. Nixon should get his early schooling there, after which he was a pupil in the Streetsville and Georgetown High Schools. Then he entered the teaching profession, and for five years taught in Peel County. In his University course at Toronto he won the Reeve Scholarship for one year, which entitled him to a post graduate course. The first years of his medical practice were spent in Scarborough, York Co., and for the last six years he has been in Georgetown. Dr. J.R. Nixon is a Coroner for the County of Halton. He and his name sake, Dr. A.W. Nixon, are associated in their practice, and occupy the same office, but there is no business partnership existing between them.
THE FLEMING QUARRIES
Credit Valley sandstone has a Dominion-wide reputation and fame, and yet it is not strictly accurate to call it “Valley” sandstone, for it is quarried from the side of a hill overlooking the valley – an elevation from which a glorious view of the surrounding country can be obtained. Credit Valley sandstone has become a popular building material throughout Canada, and its popularity is steadily increasing and the demand for it keeps far ahead of the output. One of the large quarries from which much stone is taken, located a few miles out of Georgetown, is owned by Mr. J.H. Fleming, of Toronto. Mr. Fleming owns 150 acres here, 100 of which is of good sandstone rock. The sandstone is found beneath an overburden of a limestone and earth formation several feet in depth. The strata of sandstone is 12 feet thick. During the fifteen years since there quarries began to be operated an area of probably ten acres has been stripped of stone. There is practically no limit to the stone available, so that builders need not for decades to come worry about the supply of this popular stone failing. There are three colors to this stone – grey, blue, brown. A wonderful thing about its formation is that it quarries out in such excellent condition – it being apparently in layers. The quarries are equipped with the necessary derricks, etc., for handling the stone as quarried, the plant being operated by steam. There are steam driven drills which quickly drive holes for the blasting powder, and after the explosion of the charge, one is surprised to find large stones as flat on the sides as through they had been trimmed by the skilful chisel of man or put through a saw. A private siding connects the quarries with the G.T. Railway, and makes shipment easy, giving the quarries an advantage over those not so favorably situated. Stones of all sizes and shapes and weights are carved out here and shipped to the consuming centres. Toronto is a great purchaser of the sandstone, and orders are now on hand to keep the plant busy for the next four years, even though they continue to turn out fifty tons per day as at present. The beautiful Parliament buildings in Toronto are of stone from the Fleming quarries, also the City Hall than which there are no finer buildings in Ontario. New buildings in course of construction in Toronto, using Fleming stone, are the new million and a half dollar Technical school, Upper Canada College, Bishop Strachan College, and St. Andrew’s College. Several of the swellest buildings in the city of Peterboro are built of Fleming stone. The capable manager of the quarries is Mr. M.G. Bell, a graduate of St. Andrew’s College, Toronto, whose picture appears in this article. Mr. Bell has been in charge here for three years, and is conducting the business with energy and ability.
CREELMAN BROS. – Manufacturers of Knitting Machines
The industry presided over by Mr. R.I. Creelman, and conducted under the firm name of Creelman Bros., was established in Georgetown forty-one years ago. This is about a decade longer than the average life of man. It is a long period in the life of a man, and yet only a fragment of time out of the cycle of ages. The invention of knitting machines to do the laborious work which our grandmothers did by hand was one of the beneficent inventions of the nineteenth century. When once the invention was so perfected as to become practicable, the making of the machines became a world industry. Georgetown was fortunate in securing in those early days the location here of an infant industry to manufacture knitting machines. The year on the calendar was 1872. From that day to this the making of knitting machines has progressed, and has kept pace with the development and advancement of human needs and human desires. The factory at Creelman Bros. is situated on the main business street of the town, and is a brick building of 84 x 34 feet, three floors. A staff of some 25 skilled mechanics is employed in the construction of knitting machines for power and family use. In almost every country of the world may be found machines bearing the name plate of Creelman Bros., Georgetown, Canada. Knitting mills, small and large, and families by the thousand, earn bright dollars by the use of Creelman’s machines. To the eye a knitting machine appears to be an intricate piece of machinery, but Creelman Bros. make the claim that their family knitting machines are simplicity itself – so much so that even children and blind persons can operate them. But easy to operate as they are, they are costly to make. A very fine quality of highly-tempered steel goes into their construction. Moreover expensive and unique machines operated by trained machinists are necessary to fashion the parts of the knitting machines. Besides the power-driven lathes and other machines that are countless tools of a costly character requisite in the business. Oh, it is no child’s play to make a serviceable and durable knitting machine, but Creelman Bros. have mastered the art. This is proven by the large and increasing demand for their product, and the genuine satisfaction experienced in the use thereof as evidenced by the numerous testimonials in their possession. The power knitting machines and winders made by this firm may be found in the largest and most important Knitting Mills in Canada. And everywhere and always the “Seal of Merit” is upon them. Mr. Creelman’s long experience, his thorough knowledge of the business from Alpha to Omega, has spelled a phenomenal success for this firm, whose industry has been so valuable an asset to Georgetown. If one visits, as the writer has done, many large knitting mills throughout the country, he will find machines made by this firm busily at work turning out knitted goods with swiftness and accuracy. Perfect satisfaction is the phrase which most fittingly describes the operation of Creelman power knitters and winders. The illustration on this page of a winder is one of their splendid machines. They make these winders both larger and smaller than this size shown here. Some of the family knitting machines made by this firm have 54 cylinders and some have 72, and a 36 dial. Some have 60 and 80 cylinders and 40 dial, and others have 72 and 96 cylinders and 48 dial. And we see from a catalogue before us that the prices run from $20.00 up to $50.00 and $60.00. It would seem that these machines can be fastened to any table in the home, or the firm will supply a beautiful oak-top “Banner” stand for the machine. To such perfection has the making of these stands come that the knitting machine is adroitly concealed when not in use within the top of a certain design of stand. Home knitting is made quick and easy with any one of the six family knitting machines made by this firm. Socks and stockings, underwear, caps, gloves, mittens-plain or ribbedcan be produced on these machines in the home, and at a rapid rate of speed. Many women and children make a good living in their homes by operating one of these machines. Between 25,000 and 30,000 knitting machines have been sold by this firm since the inception of the business. While a year rolls around this factory turns out from 500 to 1000 machines of various sizes and sorts. Some kinds have been made constantly for these forty years, but others are inventions of more recent date, for this firm marches in the van of the army of progress, and keep up-to-date in all things. Mr. Creelman believes in the use of printers’ ink. He is a judicious yet extensive advertiser, as his advertisements in numerous periodicals and his many catalogues abundantly testify. Yet he does not employ printers’ ink alone as his salesman. He has agents in various cities and countries, and the orders for his machinery are so generally ahead of his capacity to supply that it is seldom he is able to keep any machines long in his factory after their completion. An engraving of the moving spirit in this industry, Mr. Creelman himself, and another of his factory, appear on this page.
H.W. KENNEDY – Groceries and Boots
Forced by ill health to give up the teaching profession, for which he had specially fitted himself, Mr. H.W. Kennedy returned to Georgetown in 1895 and started the business with which he is still connected. A look into his store, with its well stocked shelves and numerous customers is sufficient evidence that in the intervening years he has kept pace with the development of the town. Mr. Kennedy has the exclusive agency for the genuine Slater Shoe, and also specializes in the footware from the factory of C.B. Dayfoot & Co. In addition to his mercantile business Mr. Kennedy is engaged in real estate transactions, acts as conveyancer, has an insurance agency, issues marriage licenses, and is Clerk and Treasurer of the town. He is Chairman of the Public Library Board, Secretary of the Trustee Board of the Methodist church, and since the death of his father, in 1902, has been Recording Steward. He lives a busy life, and is one of the town’s best citizens. In addition to the store property, which is situated close to the Post Office, on Main Street, Mr. Kennedy has built and still owns a number of other business places and dwellings. He has a pretty bungalow on Church Street and a cottage in Muskoka, between which he spends the summer months, and in winter lives in rooms over the store. His sister, Miss Kennedy, is an efficient assistant in the store, and a capable salesman is always retained.
H.W. KENNEDY, B.A.
The subject of this sketch is a descendent of U.S. Loyalist stock. His grandfather came from New Jersey in 1790, and was one of the earliest settlers in the Georgetown district. After getting his elementary education at the public school near his father’s farm, from which he passed to Georgetown Academy, he took a course at Albert College and then attended Victoria University, from which he graduated in 1887, and carried away a gold medal with honor. For a short time he was Professor of English and Moderns at Albert College. After returning to Georgetown and giving some service in the Town Council, he was elected Reeve in 1899. He was appointed Clerk and Treasurer in 1905, and has since filled these offices with credit to himself and to the satisfaction of the public.
F.L. HEATH, L.D.S., D.D.S
Dr. Heath is a son of the farm. His early home was near Brampton, and it was in this town that he attended High School and also the Model School. He taught for two years, and then entered the Royal college of Dental Surgeons, of Toronto, being articled at this time with Dr. J.G. Roberts, of Brampton. In 1906 he graduated, and started the practice of dentistry in Meaford, where he remained till May, 1911, when he removed to Georgetown. His office is in the Lane Block, on Main street, where he is prepared to treat all diseases and irregularities of the teeth, and to give skillful attention to all cases requiring his services. Dr. Heath has always taken a keen interest in sports, and has played in all kinds of games, from marbles to football and lacrosse. He is now SecretaryTreasurer of the Lawn Bowling Club, and ready for a game whenever the green is in condition. He is a member of the Board of Trade, and on the Finance Committee of the Methodist church.
W.H. BOLES – Music Dealer and Machine Agent
Though comparatively new to the business life of Georgetown, Mr. W.H. Boles has a wide acquaintanceship throughout the district. For five years he drove the stage between Guelph and Erin, and in this capacity met hundreds of people he would not otherwise have known. He was born and raised in Halton county and two years ago came into Georgetown, where he has already established a splendid business connection. He sells musical instruments of all kinds – cornets, flutes, banjos, guitars, violins, etc., and has the exclusive agency the Edison Phonographs and records, and the new Pollock Phonola, a cabinet talking machine, now being manufactured in Berlin. The Wright piano, a high class piano manufactured in Stratnroy, is sold by Mr. Boles, and is an instrument that any pianist would be glad to possess. Though new in Canada, where it has been manufactured for eight years, it has a well established reputation for excellence in the United States. As agent for the Singer Sewing Machine, Mr. Boles has had splendid success. The sales of this universally known machine in 1912 amounted to over 2,500,000, not dollars, but machines, there being now no less than 865 different kinds made, to meet the needs of its world-wide field. Since he took hold of the Singer machine business in Georgetown and vicinity, and at Acton, there has been a fifty per cent. increase in the sales, the result of close attention and well directed energy. Another specialty in Mr. Boles’ selling is cream separators, the “Premier” and the “Empire” being the favorites. The Premier is fitted with aluminum discs, a unique feature, which absolutely prevents rusting. It is easy to operate, easy to clean, and of great durability. Repair work for sewing machines and phonographs is done carefully and promptly, and repair parts, needles, and other supplies are kept in stock, also a big assortment of sheet music. Owing to increasing business Mr. Boles has just moved to larger premises, the store across the street from the Wheeler block, lately occupied by Mr. W.L. Hamilton. Every fall Mr. Boles makes a break in his busy life and spends two weeks hunting big game in Northern Ontario. On his return from his trip, in the season just closed, he brought with him two fine deer and a bear.
BELL’S REPOSITORY – Jas. A. Bell, Proprietor
The dictionary tells us that a repository is a place where things are stored. A look into Mr. J.A. Bell’s warehouse and yard on Mill street convinces one that the name locally given to his business premises is quite appropriate. In early manhood Mr. Bell conducted a blacksmith shop and carriage factory in the nearby village of Stewartown, but he moved into Georgetown twenty-five years ago and has been a resident and business man for that time. He sells farm implements, wind mills and pumps, bicycles, steam engines and threshers, buggies and wagons, harness, robes, blankets, etc., and has lately added cooking stoves and heaters. Mr. Bell is the representative of such well-known firms as the MasseyHarris Co., McLaughlin Carriage Co., Bain Wagon Co., Wilkinson Plough Co., Geo. White & Son, Goold, Shapely and Muir Co., and others. He does not depend on a catalogue from which he sells goods, but has the products of these firms right on hand, and ready for delivery to his customers. He carries repairs for all the different machinery and implements he handles, and does a large business.
McKAY BROS. – Groceries, Flour and Feed
The name of McKay has been long associated with the business life of Georgetown. Not less than half a century ago the late Hugh McKay started here in the grocery business. In 1885 he was succeeded by his sons, and at the present time a representative of the third generation is actively connected with the business. Throughout all the years the reputation for integrity and square dealing that the founder established has been splendidly maintained. Through the firm name is still McKay Bros., the business has been owned and controlled by Mr. Wm. G. McKay for several years. The stock carried comprises groceries, crockery, flour, feed etc., and it is the largest strictly grocery and crockery store in the town. Mr. McKay has an extensive and well arranged delivery system, and keeps well up-to-date in other ways. His son, Mr. O.T. McKay, has charge of the office work.
Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
J. McDERMID – Groceries, Crockery and Footware
This business was established in 1881 by the late J. McDermid, and sixteen years later Mr. J. McDermid, Jr., succeeded his father, at the time of the latter’s death. At that time the stock consisted of groceries, crockery and glassware. In 1903 Mr. McDermid added boots and shoes, and has since enjoyed a nice trade in this line. His show windows and store are tastily kept and always present an attractive appearance. In September of the present year, Mr. McDermid was appointed Postmaster of Georgetown, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of the late Wm. McLeod, which occurred in August last. For this reason Mr. McDermid will not continue to give attention to mercantile pursuits, and intends to dispose of his business. He will be glad to give detailed information concerning it to those who may be desirous of securing a good stand in a good town.
JAMES CLARK – Flour and Food
Though he is past the three score years and ten limit Mr. Jas. Clark is regularly at his place of business and gives personal attention to this customers. During the whole of his life he has been engaged in the milling business, at Rockwood, Ayr, Acton and other points. He came here from Cheltenham, and followed the same occupation till the mill was destroyed by fire in 1910. Since that time he has conducted a flour and feed store on Main Street, near the Mackenzie mill. In the spring and summer season he carries a stock of field and garden seeds and seed grain. He also sells the various products of the International Stock Food Co. J.M. BUCK – Butcher There is probably no article of food that requires such careful handling, and about which the consumer is so particular, as the meat that is brought to our tables. Patrons of Mr. J.M. Buck, and others who visit his store on Mill St., have the fullest assurance the senses can give that everything that is sold there is clean, sweet and wholesome. For thirty-two years, Mr. Buck has been supplying Georgetown customers with meat, and has built up a large and remunerative business. He started with one man to help him and a boy with a basket to deliver. Now he has four assistants and keeps three horses for the two town deliveries and one to Glen Williams. In addition to fresh meats of all kinds, there is always a large stock of cooked and cured meats, canned goods, pickles, olives, etc. Mr. Buck has his own abattoir and cold storage and does the curing and cooking of all the meat that he sells in this condition. He has recently purchased a farm, which will be used for grazing cattle and raising feed for his horses, and for finishing the animals he buys for slaughter. His residence is situated on the corner of John and Guelph Streets, where it presents a fine appearance. It was rebuilt about twelve years ago, and is now a most comfortable and commodious home. Mr. Buck has given recent service in the Town Council, of which he was a member for three years.
R.A. LEWIS – “My Valet”
Born in London, Eng., Mr. R.A. Lewis spent the early years of his life within the sound of Bow Bells, and it was in the capital city of the Empire that he learned the trade he is still engaged in. Here he was employed with Messrs. Lush and Cook, cleaners to His Majesty’s Government, and the principal Dry French cleaners in London. He has been in Canada for nine years, part of which he was principal cleaner for Fountain, of Toronto, of “My Valet” fame. Four years ago he came to Georgetown and started a similar business – repairing, cleaning and pressing of clothing. He uses only the French dry process of cleaning which gives the garments back to their owners in a condition equal to new, something not possible with the wet cleaning process. His work gives excellent satisfaction, and it is largely due to Mr. Lewis that the men of Georgetown present the neat, well clothed appearance they do.
ADAMS & CO. – Dry Goods, Millinery, Groceries, Etc.
Mr. R.C. Adams, head of this firm has been twenty-five years in the store of which he now has the management, part of this time as salesman, but doing business for himself since 1901, at which time he succeeded Mr. A.D. Thomson. Adams & Co. Have a good town and country trade, some of their outside customers coming from long distances. They carry an extensive stock of general dry goods, ready to wear and made to order clothing, dress goods etc., and have the largest millinery department in town, the show room having a floor space of 700 square feet. This is a most attractive spot, and the finished product of the work room shows both good taste and skillful work. The prices at which these hats are sold are an extraordinary reduction from those charged in city stores. In house furnishings there are rugs, curtains, draperies, linoleums, etc. Special pride is taken in the women’s ready to wear department. The sale of coats this season has been the biggest in the store’s history, though weather conditions have not been as favorable as usual. In misses’ and women’s dresses there is a large choice. In men’s furnishings only the best makes of shirts, collars, neckwear, etc., are stocked. The “Fit Well” hat for men is a specialty here. The grocery section is large and well supplied. Farmers’ produce, such as butter, eggs, poultry, potatoes and apples, is bought and the highest current prices can always be obtained. The show windows are given careful attention and always present a very attractive appearance. Messrs. Adams & Co. devote their entire time and ability to their business, and are doing what they can to keep down the cost of living, by selling at closest prices consistent with good quality.
T.W. BEAMISH – Boots, Rubbers, Trunks
There is nothing like leather,” and Mr. Beamish knows the leather and shoe business better than most of us do, for he has been connected with the making and selling of these commodities all his life. He came to Georgetown three years ago and opened the only exclusive footwear store in town. He has one of the biggest stocks of boots and rubbers between Toronto and Guelph. In the repair department a lot of work is done and excellent satisfaction given. A boot to fit any foot, a rubber to fit any boot, and all honestly made and moderately priced, is a brief description of the goods to be had at Beamish’s store.
E.J. SCOTT, Phm.B. – Druggist and Optician
Mr. E.J. Scott is a Georgetown boy who secured his education here, after which he served his apprenticeship to the drug trade in Hamilton. He graduated from the Toronto School of Pharmacy in 1904, and for three years he was in Hamilton and Chatham. Then he returned to Georgetown and opened out the drug store he has since conducted for himself. Four years ago he took an optical course and prepared himself to treat those who have defective vision, and fit them with proper glasses. In common with the druggists elsewhere, Mr. Scott not only carries a well supplied stock of drugs and medicines, but has several other lines of goods in his neatly kept store. Stationery and school supplies, combs, brushes, and other toilet articles, cigars, safety razors, razor strops, and other shaving requisites, can be obtained from him at right prices. He has the sole agency for the town for Huyler’s bonbons and chocolates, and the Jersey Cream Chocolates. The Scott drug store is the “Rexall” store in Georgetown. This is an asset that is highly valued by all druggists who are fortunate enough to secure it. The store is situated on Main St., close to the Merchant’s Bank.
THE BARBER COATING AND PAPER MILLS
In April, 1912, the Barber Paper & Coating Mills, Ltd., acquired the interests of Wm. Barber & Bros. and Canada Coating Mills Ltd., Georgetown, and consolidated them under the one name as above, since which time a great deal of money has been spent in improvements to both plants. The paper mills situated at some distance from the coating mills, have been thoroughly overhauled, both as regards buildings and machinery and the Soda Pulp plant connected therewith has once again started the manufacture of pulp suitable for high class M.F. books and featherweight paper, for which the mill has already established a reputation. The coating mill is the largest in Canada, being equipped with most modern coating machines together with a glazing machine for the manufacture of glazed box paper, high class coated book, coated blanks, and box board from the product of the paper mill. The following are the officers of the company: G.R. Copping, President; I.H. Weldon, Vice-President; S.F. Duncan, Secretary-Treasurer. Under the present able management the future success of the industry is assured.
W.M. GAMBLE – Vegetable Gardener
On John St., Georgetown are located the greenhouses of Mr. William Gamble, vegetable gardener. Mr. Gamble is an old printer, who, tiring of “sticking type,” turned his attention to growing things. His trade had been increasing so much that last year he doubled the capacity of his plant. He now has 7,500 feet of glass, and next year expects to build two more greenhouses 200 feet long. Lettuce for winter use is a big item at this season with Mr. Gamble. He also has two houses for the growth of violets. The season for these ends about Easter, and the space occupied is then devoted to the growth of early tomatoes. Pot plants and bedding plants form a considerable output. About an acre is devoted to the growth of celery in summer time. Mr. Gamble finds a keen market in Georgetown, Brampton and elsewhere for all he can produce in the way of vegetables – in fact he cannot begin to supply the demand. The outlook for the future is, therefore, for a steady expansion of this business. Mr. Gamble is a Georgetown boy. He worked on the Globe and Mail, of Toronto as a compositor, as well as in cities across the line, spending fifteen years in the trade. He is now a member of Georgetown Public School Board.
THE PUBLIC SCHOOL
Georgetown has good reason to be proud of its enlarged and improved Public School. As will be seen from the picture in this paper the building presents a very attractive appearance. The building of an addition of four class rooms and two teachers’ rooms this year has given us a ten-roomed school, with modern equipment. A new heating plant, together with the present excellent sanitary conveniences, put this school into the first-class. The present principal, Mr. A.G. Green, came to us over a year ago from Pickering, where he had successfully filled the position of Principal for five years. Previously he had taught for eleven years in Beeton. The present teaching staff comprises six teachers and the principal, Misses Annie Ryan, Hazel Harrison, Mary Langan, Nellie Roe, Bessie Kay, and Elma Robertson. The Public School Board is as follows:- L. Kennedy (chairman), J.A. Thompson (Secretary), Neil Hunter, W. Gamble, Chas. Roe, J. Blair.
L.L. BENNETT, L.D.S.
Dr. Bennett is one of the oldest residents of Georgetown, and has spent all his professional life here. He practiced dentistry before the Ontario Dental College had an existence, but obtained his degree in 1868, the first year an examination was held. His certificate if one of the first seven that were issued in Ontario. As he had been at work as a dentist for four years previous to getting his certificate, he will come to his jubilee in 1914. Dr. Bennett has seen many changes in Georgetown, and in its business and professional men. He is now giving careful attention to the preservation of the teeth of a third generation. Dr. Bennett has had a long connection with the official board of the Methodist Church, and is a member of the High School Board.
J.H. JACKSON – Department Store
Mr. J.H. Jackson has under his management the most varied stock of merchandise to be found in Georgetown, and it is eminently proper to call his a Departmental Store. From a humble starting point, Mr. Jackson has, by foresight and hard work, developed one of the big businesses of the town. The lower part of his establishment comprises what was at one time three stores, with basement, and he has a second floor that covers these three and two others, five in all. The situation is in the Barclay Block, opposite the Post Office. He has been in these premises for twenty years, but began business for himself in other quarters in 1884. At that time he handled only boots, stationery and fancy goods. In 1897, house furnishings were added, in 1899, stoves, tin and granitware, in 1901, staple dry goods and millinery, and so step by step progress was made, until now Mr. Jackson is in the position that he can undertake to outfit a dwelling house in every particular, from cellar to attic. He papers the walls, carpets the floors, hangs the draperies and pictures, supplies the furniture, bedding, linen, stoves, kitchen utensils, cutlery, and every other need with the exception of the food supply. In addition to the different lines already mentioned, Mr. Jackson has a well-supplied boot department, a big stock of toys, sells newspapers, periodicals, etc. For twenty-nine years, ever since the first telephone line was built through the district, he has been local manager of the Bell Telephone Co. From ten to fifteen persons are employed on the premises.
MAJOR L. GRANT
Mr. Lachlan Grant is a son of “Bonnie Scotland” but left the land of the heather in early childhood, and has spent his life in Canada. He has been associated with the business, social and religious life of Georgetown for nearly fifty years. Up to the year 1888 he was a dry goods merchant. In 1890 he was appointed Clerk of Division Court and held this office for seventeen years. He was a member of the Town Council for a number of years, and was Reeve in 1910. He has always taken a keen interest in educational affairs and has given faithful service as Public School Trustee, and on the High School Board. For forty years he was a member of the 20th Lorne Rifles, and did not miss a camp for thirty-one consecutive years. He retired with the rank of Major in 1909, and is still on the reserve of officers. He has been connected with the Presbyterian church since 1867, was one of the managers for many years, and an Elder since 1886. He has been a Mason for forty-one years, and was Master of the local lodge away back in 1880. Major Grant now represents the Allan and Canadian Northern Steamship lines.
For over 32 years Mr. Ballantyne has been in business in Georgetown. He sells coal, wood, cement, flour and feed, groceries. His place of business is near the railway station, corner King and Queen Sts. He is erecting a new store building of cement, with a weigh scale adjoining which will be much more convenient than former conditions. The old store building is to be fitted up for a dwelling. Mr. Ballantyne handles D.L. and W. Scranton coal in all sizes, and he keeps two wagons busy delivering his sales – flour and feed forming a lot of his output. Kindling and summer wood are sold and delivered in required lengths. Mr. Ballantyne came to Canada from Ireland in 1863. He has been living here for the fifty years ever since. He belongs to the A.O.U.W. and I.O.F. Orders. He has prospered here, for he owns a good deal of property in town.
GEORGETOWN PUMP WORKS – H.A. Gartley Prop.
Mr. H.A. Gartley has been connected with this business during the twenty years he has lived in Georgetown. For most of this time he was in partnership with his father, but since 1911 has had the business in his own name. Originally only wooden pumps were landed, but now the demand is almost entirely for those made of iron. Mr. Gartley not only supplies the pump, but he finds the water for it. In the drilling of artesian wells he is an expert, and his services are in demand for a distance of twenty miles in several directions. The average depth at which flowing springs are found, throughout this district, is about one hundred feet. Mr. Gartley is agent for wind mills and gasoline engines. He uses one of the later for power purposes in his own factory. In addition to the horses which he keeps for his own business, he has several which he hires out for driving. His premises are situated at the corner of Church and Edith Sts.
A PERSONAL WORD
While publishing something as to the history of other business interests in the village, it may be permitted to say a work about ourselves. The Herald is now in its forty-eighth year of publication, and has a career of moderate success, to put it modestly. The present publisher has been at the helm for about five years, and has to thank the patrons of the paper and the townspeople generally for the generous considerations they have shown towards him. His predecessor, Mr. R.D. Warren, now manager Standard Pub. Co., Toronto, conducted the Herald for many years and raised the standard high. If we fail sometimes in maintaining the pace set by him, we trust it will not be set down to our unwillingness to make the endeavor. The publishing of this special industrial number has been attended by much labor and great expense. We thank those who have generously supported the effort, and trust it will prove of good advertising value to the municipality and to the business people alike. It is probable that some mistakes may have occurred in the sketches written by our assistants, but we trust this fault will be overlooked, since it is human to err. We desire to express our appreciation of the uniform courtesy with which our representatives were treated in their endeavors to procure material for this special number, and to thank all who in any way contributed to its compilation. We trust that those who have purchased copies of this paper will endeavor to have them distributed, so that Georgetown may obtain the widest possible publicity. A Resident of Georgetown
DR. F.R. WATSON – Dentist
Dr. Watson is a native of the town in which he now practices his profession and has lived his life here. In his younger days he was an enthusiastic lacrosse player, and was a member of the team that made Georgetown famous, “some twenty years ago”. In 1899 he graduated from the Toronto Dental College, with the degree of B.D.S. Six years later, as the result of post graduate work, he secured a higher standing, Master of Dental Surgery. By his skill in treating the diseases that the teeth of humanity are heir to he has established a large and growing practice. He gives special attention to Orthodentia, the regulating and straightening of teeth, and to the treatment of Pyorrhea, the disease of the teeth and gums that causes the teeth to loosen and fall out. Dr. Watson is an ardent fisherman, and spends his summer vacation near Port Carling, Muskoka, where he owns a pretty cottage.
ARE YOU VERY BUSY?
Every little while you read in the papers that so many persons have died from Consumption. It is all very far-off and matter of fact and possibly it scarcely arrests your attention. Do you ever realize that each one of those “cases” – mere items in an official record – is a black tragedy to somebody, that behind each one of them lies long, hopeless days of pain, feverish nights of despair, lifetime plans that must be laid away, grinding poverty, perhaps a wife to fight her own way afterwards or children who know hunger now that the father is gone. Just suppose it were your tragedy. Suppose it were your father, you mother, your brother, sister, husband, wife, your child, or perhaps your sweetheart, and you with the hospital door shut in your face, wringing your hands in utter helplessness while the crowds hurry by, engrossed in their own affairs. But no! You are in that crowd and you don’t hear either because you are busy. But wouldn’t you give – and gladly – if you knew that what means so little to you would go far to bring back the glow to somebody’s wan face or the laughter to somebody’s lips? Just sit down and think of the one you love best in the world. Then say “If she lay there —” or “If he lay there —“and see how it sounds. What would become of all your plans and your busy days then? For eleven years now the Muskoka Free Hospital for Consumptives has cared for those whom others love best, and hundreds of them have gone home again well and happy. It keeps its doors open because a few busy people like you stop for a moment and remember. Don’t put if off. Use the attached form in sending your contribution.
DOES IT MATTER?
Does It Matter to you that of all the men, women and children who die each year in Canada one in seven is a victim of Consumption? Does It Matter that one in every three of these is cut off in the full glow of life, with plans and hopes and loves that must be given up? Does It Matter that a few persons have joined hands and within a few short years have saved thousands of these unhappy ones and can save them all if only there is a little more help and a little more money? Perhaps it doesn’t matter. It is all very interesting but it is no immediate concern of yours. But Would It Matter if instead of entering somebody else’s home and carrying off their loved ones, Consumption came into your home and laid its hands on the one you love the best in all the world? Would It Matter then if you saw your husband, wife, child or friend dying for lack of a little bit of the money some other fellow was throwing away? Would It Matter when Christmas came if there were nothing for you to do but sit on the edge of the bed and stroke the white hand on the coverlet and realize that this was the last Christmas? This is how much it matters in thousands of homes in Canada this year and will continue to matter until enough people like you test the burden and feel how crushing it is. It DOES matter – it is the most important thing in the life of some unfortunate sufferer – what you do with the attached form.
Georgetown: A Busy Manufacturing Community The Georgetown Herald, Wed. December 17, 1913
Norval Mills were established in 1868 by the late Robt. Noble, and were conducted by him up to the time of his death, five years ago. Since that time this large business has been successfully operated by his son, Mr. A.L. Noble, in the interests of the estate. A joint stock company is now in course of formation, and after the new year the firm name will be Robert Noble, Limited. These large mills are situated on the River Credit at Norval, about 2 and a half miles from Georgetown, and the machinery is operated entirely by water power. The mills have a capacity of 220 barrels per day, and run night and day the year round. The following celebrated brands of flour are the product of their mills: “King’s Choice.” “Norval” and “National,” and are known in almost every household from here to the Atlantic Ocean. Besides a large local trade, these mills ship to Toronto, East in townships of Quebec, Quebec City, and St. John’s, N.B. They also export flour to Glasgow and Belfast. The custom mill for chopping and grinding feeds for stock has an immense local patronage. In addition to the business conducted at Norval, the firm operates a large elevator at the G.T.R. station at Georgetown, and a grain elevator and flour and feed store at Acton. They buy all kinds of grain, and thus offer a constant market to the producer at the highest market prices. Besides the large amount of excellent wheat received at the mill door, there is a large amount of hard spring wheat brought from the West and used for blending purposes, thus enabling this firm to compete very successfully with the mills operating in the West. Preparations are now being made for a switch from Toronto Suburban Railway to the mills. The reputation of this firm for square, honest dealing, and the high quality of their output has won for them a very large and growing patronage. The Robert Noble estate has also been largely interesting in farming their lands being beautifully situated along the banks of the River Credit, and they have recently sold a large block of land for a site for the new Upper Canada College, which will move from Toronto to Norval.
J.N. O’NEILL’S CARRIAGE WORK
The carriage works and show rooms, owned and managed by Mr. J.N. O’Neill, occupy a big section on the west side of Main Street. This is one of the town’s substantial industries, and the enterprise and energy shown in its management are the kind that always bring success. The present proprietor succeeded Messrs. Culp & McKenzie in 1898. He enlarged the building and put in a complete outfit of wood-working machinery necessary for carriage making, and also added to the equipment of the blacksmith shop. He keeps ten men steadily at work, and does all the work necessary to produce a buggy, or other road carriage, under his own roof, including the painting, upholstering, and making of tops. He has a first-class rubber tiring plant, the only one between Toronto and Guelph, and makes a speciality of adjusting rubber tires to all kinds of wheels. Mr. O’Neill takes particular pride in a three-seated extension top carriage, commonly called a surrey, which he builds, mostly for livery use, and which is very stylish in appearance, and always gives the best of satisfaction. These are shipped to all parts of Canada. In addition to the surreys, a large number of democrats and delivery wagons are turned out each year. Two years ago a cement block building, 22 x 52, four stories and basement, was built for storage purposes and show rooms. Though trade conditions have not been the best in 1913, Mr. O’Neill reports this to have been his best year. The repair work done has been extraordinary. An invention of his own, which is used on every job he turns out, is O’Neill’s patent malleable double pole heel, which greatly reduced the cost of manufacturing buggy and democrat poles. This has been patented in both Canada and the United States. McCormick binders, Cockshutt ploughs, hay loaders, stable fittings, hay forks, etc., can all be purchased from Mr. O’Neill, he having the agency for these lines of farm machinery. In addition to the building shown below, Mr. O’Neill has a handsome three-storey cement block building which he uses for a show room for carriages and automobiles. This building is only a few doors distant from the factory.
HOTEL McGIBBON – S.H. McGibbon, Prop.
This fine three-storey brick building occupies one of the best business corners in town, with a frontage of 56 feet on Main Street., and extending back on Mill Street for 90 feet. Mr. S.H. McGibbon, whose genial face is pictured on this page, has owned and managed this hotel which bears his name for nineteen years, and has become well and favorably known to the traveling public, and the patronage extended to him must be very gratifying. There are 32 well-furnished bedrooms, and two large and well-lighted sample rooms, and it is not an uncommon experience to have all these rooms engaged. That Mr. McGibbon desires to make his guests as comfortable as possible is shown in many different ways. A steam heating plant has just been installed and every room in the house is now individually warmed. Electric lights are in use all through the house, and lavatories are conveniently placed on each floor. The dining-room accommodates forty persons at a time, and the meals served are always appetizing and satisfying. There is stabling for thirty horses, and an attentive hostler in charge. The union bus conveys passengers to and from all trains. A well stocked bar is kept open during legal hours, with obliging wine clerks in charge.
THE PRETTY VILLAGE OF GLEN WILLIAMS
The Credit Valley is one of the most picturesque and wealthy portions of that part of the Province of Ontario lying just west of the Provincial Capital. In this valley, so rich is natural resources and about 1 and a half miles from Georgetown, is the village of Glen Williams – a village which has come into existence by and grown up around the thriving industries which Credit River power has made profitable here. The panoramic view of the valley at this place, with the Credit River on the rampage which is shown, gives an idea of the charming location of the industrial community. The village boasts a population of some 700 persons, contains a school, several churches, two stores, one hotel, and many very fine residences. We are pleased to give a business write-up of the two industries located here as well as of the largest general store and the village hotel.
GLEN WOOLLEN MILLS AND MELROSE KNITTING CO.
The picturesque village of Glen Williams, situated on the Credit River, one and one half miles north of Georgetown can justly claim to be a manufacturing centre. Something over a quarter of a century ago, the building that now houses the Glen Woollen Mills was erected, and the manufacture of goods was begun. In 1894 the firm name was the Sykes & Ainley Mfg. Co., but in 1907 the company that now operates the woolen mill and the knitting factory was organized and took possession of the business. The shareholders are mostly resident in England, Mr. H.P. Lawson, Georgetown, Vice-President, and Mr. E.Y. Barraclough, Secretary-Treasurer and General Manager, are the only Canadian representatives on the Board of Directors, and Mr. Barraclough has only been in Canada for three years. His long experience in the manufacture of woollen goods in England has well fitted him for his present positions, which he has held for two years, and under his management excellent progress is being made in all departments. The woolen mill is a four set mill, and here the different processes the wool passes through, from its original condition, as it leaves the sheep’s back, till it is ready for the loom or the knitting machine, are completed. The products of the looms consists of grey blankets, rope linings, fancy buggy rugs, wool horse blankets, kersey cloth, collar check, etc. The output is distributed through the Canadian wholesale trade. There is also good demand for their carpet and knitting yarns. The Melrose Knitting Co. is subsidiary to the woolen company and under the same management. This part of the building was established in a new building about seven years ago. It is a hive of industry, and in the course of a year 45,000 dozen of men’s socks are knit and marketed. At the present time orders are booked that will keep everything humming for another year. Only men’s wool socks and lumberman’s socks are made, and the demand is such that there is rarely any of the finished product in the stock room. Owing to the difficulty of getting operators a number of English automatic machines were recently installed. These seem to be possessed of almost human intelligence. To watch the knitting of a sock from top to toe, with the stitch changing six times without other attention than the keeping of the bobbins supplied with yarn, is, to say the least exceedingly interesting. One of the machines does the work of six hand machines and six operators. With the twelve machines now in use, requiring the attention of two boys, sixty dozen of socks are knit in a day. These mills are splendidly situated in regard to power, having abundance of water for this purpose. In addition, there is a 100 h.p. boiler and engine which is used for heating, drying, etc., and is ready at any time for emergency use for power. In addition to these the company uses electric power for some of their more delicate machinery, the current being generated by their own dynamo, and used also for lighting purposes. There appears to be but one disadvantage, the distance from the railway, necessitating haulage over a mile and a half of roadway. But the other natural advantages of the situation more than make up for this. The payroll contains between sixty and seventy names, and would be increased to a hundred could more help be obtained.
JOSEPH BEAUMONT – Knitted Goods, Etc.
Thousands of persons all over Canada are wearing socks and leather mitts made by Jos. Beaumont, Glen Williams, who never heard the name of the village, and have no idea where it is situated. All-wool half hose for men and workingmen’s mitts and gloves are manufactured at this factory on the Credit. While the factory is on the Credit – business is on as much of a cash basis as selling to the trade permits. It is 35 years since the Credit River began to turn the wheels which drive the machinery in this factory. The late Samuel Beaumont, father of the present proprietor, established the industry here in 1878. He had been in the woollen business in England before coming to Canada. The present owner was born in England before coming to Canada. The present owner was born in England, but has grown up with the industry here in Glen Williams. He has a large and handsome factory, as the illustration shows. The main building is 100 x 40 feet, two floors, another building being 80 x 50 feet, as well as several storehouses where raw material and finished goods are kept ready for use or shipment. The splendid mill dam turns enough water into the mill race to drive the immense water wheel which makes the power needed. In reserve there is a 75 h.p. steam engine, in case anything should go wrong with the water power. The glove-making end of the business was acquired in 1906 from the Dominion Glove Works, which had been operating for a quarter of a century. Mr. Beaumont uses mostly New Zealand wool, it being of a finer and more uniform quality than the Canadian product. The leather used is sheepskin, horsehide, pigskin, which is mostly procured from the United States. The output of the factory is about 200 dozen pairs of socks per day and about 40 dozen pairs of mitts and gloves per day. From 80 to 100 workers are employed, both on piece and time work. The monthly wage bill aggregates $2,500 to $3,000. Messrs. G.O. Ross & Co., of Montreal, are the selling agents of the product of this factory, and goods are shipped to the retailers as orders are received. The demand is always greater than the supply, the product of the Beaumont factory being in demand because of its excellence. Beaumont socks are good socks, and Beaumont mitts and gloves have no superior in the various grade manufacturer. The factory is excellently equipped with the best machinery, there being three sets of 60- inch cards, three spinning mules of 1200 spindles, and knitting machines for socks and mitt cuffs. The socks sell from 25 cents to 50 cents, and tie mitts from 50 cents to $1.00 – these being popular prices. The output of the factory is yearly being increased as the merits of the Beaumont goods are becoming better known, and the future for the Beaumont mitt presents a very bright aspect.
JOHN A. WHEELER – General Merchant
Mr. John A. Wheeler, who conducts what is popularly known as “The Glen Store,” has lived for thirty years in Glen Williams, coming there with his father, Mr. A. Wheeler, from a nearby farm in 1883. Mr. Wheeler, Sr., opened business as a general merchant at that time, and has had his son as assistant during the most of the period. Mr. A. Wheeler was appointed Post Master in 1885, and still holds the position but a little more than a year ago sold the business to his son. The latter has always been actively associated with the work of serving the store’s customers, and in attending to the diversified stock with which the shelves and fixtures are filled. Dry goods, groceries, footwear, hardware, patent medicines, confectionery, fruit, etc., can always be obtained at close marked prices. Mr. Wheeler does not cater for the so called “Bargain Day” feature that is now common in some stores, but offers his goods at prices that are fair and right every day of the week, and the same to all who come. He has a good village trade and enjoys a considerable patronage from the farming community. In connection with the latter he buys butter, eggs, and other produce of the farms, and pays the best price for these commodities. He does a good business on what is practically a cash basis. The Post Office is still located in the store. Mr. Wheeler has a camera that he makes good use of, and has numerous photos of pretty scenery and other subjects, taken in the Glen. Some of these are reproduced in this paper.
ST. ALBAN’S CHURCH
St. Alban’s Church, a handsome little edifice on the banks of the Credit River in the Glen, was erected in 1902. Services had been held in the village years before by the clergy from Georgetown, but it was found at last that if the work must be satisfactorily carried on a church must be built. A lot was left for the purpose by Mrs. Rose Ann McMaster, who died in October, 1901, and on Sept, 8, 1902, the corner stone was laid by Mr. John Harding Grand Master of the Masonic Order. The officiating clergy were the Revs. The Rural Dean, A.F. Davidson, Wm. Walsh and T.A. Wallace. The building committee appointed were Rev. T.G. Wallace, John Sykes, Wm. Armstrong, H. Holdroyd and Jos. Beaumont. Services are held every Sunday at 3 p.m., the rector of Georgetown officiating. The church is capable of holding 200 people, and it has 36 families and 146 souls belonging to it. The present Wardens are Mr. Mr. Jos Beaumont, rector’s Warden, and Mark Clark, Jr. People’s Warden.
GLEN WILLIAMS HOTEL – T. Cunningham, Prop.
The engraving on this page of the hotel in the Glen is a very good picture of the public hostelry presided over by Mr. Timothy Cunningham. Quite a few travelers find their way to this picturesque village, and here they secure accommodation. A goodly number of permanent and transient boarders are also taken care of. There are 17 bedrooms in the hotel, and the dining-room is well serviced. The stables have accommodation for fifteen horses, and there is also shed room and large yard accommodation. The present proprietor, Mr. Cunningham, came here from Hamilton a few months ago, he having been in the feed-stable business on the market. He is a young man who has lots of ambition to get ahead, and he will no doubt do so.